Lorde Melodrama
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Romulus
June 13th 2021


9015 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i think how much the singles off PH (royals, tennis court, team) were wildly overplayed back in the day really soured me on that album. unfairly, because i've come to enjoy it over time. think i will always be team melodrama tho. i still don't particularly like royals or tennis court

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 13th 2021


39053 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah those two are defs bottom tier

Digging: The Flashbulb - Kirlian Selections

Slex
June 13th 2021


11850 Comments


Royals isn't very good but Tennis Court and especially Team are incredible

Digging: Isaiah Rashad - The House Is Burning

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
June 13th 2021


10798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Tennis Court might still be my favorite Lorde song

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
June 13th 2021


10798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Tennis Court might still be my favorite Lorde song



Damn double post

Sowing
Moderator
June 13th 2021


38509 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I had the same experience as Romulus. Where I live, those Pure Heroine singles were overplayed to a ridiculous extent and at one point I even despised her music because of it. Melodrama is what turned me around on her. I realize all of this was out of Ella's control but just explaining why PH could never touch this one in my eyes.

Digging: Needtobreathe - Into The Mystery

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
June 13th 2021


14447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Love love love this album but yeah Royals is one of the most annoying songs ever made

Digging: Adjy - The Idyll Opus (I-VI)

AlexKzillion
June 13th 2021


12563 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Even though she's obviously done better... I still find Royals really impressive in that it's just her voice and some sparse drums yet it was the biggest hit of 2013/14 whatever. I'd imagine songs like that are some of the most difficult songs to write (and actually make good) as there is just nothing to hide behind. No melodic assistance from the instrumental at all shit lives or dies by her voice.

Sowing
Moderator
June 13th 2021


38509 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I hated Royals at the time of release, but like most of PH, I came around to it after this album. Royals is pretty impressive IMO.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 13th 2021


39053 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a cool statement track but she's done far better

Weirdly the first Lorde song I can remember hearing was Glory and Gore. Caught a whole set when she opened for Arcade Fire, but that was the only one that stood out at the time. How things change...

Colton
June 13th 2021


11095 Comments


I’m relistening to PH right now and it’s very one dimensional and homogenous how much better is this?

Ryus
June 13th 2021


24788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

much less homogenous

Ryus
June 13th 2021


24788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

listen to hejira instead tho

Snake.
June 13th 2021


23256 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's like going from watching the dvd you rented from blockbuster in your living room to watching the same movie in IMAX 3D

Colton
June 13th 2021


11095 Comments


lol fuck ryus I meant to today but ended up putting on the new Bo Burnham. will listen tonight for sure to at least some of it

and ok that’s pretty convincing snake

Colton
June 13th 2021


11095 Comments


lmao just saw you 1’d it

Ryus
June 13th 2021


24788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah uh not my vibe

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 13th 2021


39053 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"it's like going from watching the dvd you rented from blockbuster in your living room to watching the same movie in IMAX 3D"

it is flashier and more mainstream-catering and will appeal to you if you're the kind of person who still makes blockbuster refs 2012

Snake.
June 13th 2021


23256 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hey if the shoe fits

Colton
June 13th 2021


11095 Comments


blockbuster had some kickass air conditioning



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy