The Birthday Massacre Under Your Spell
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
EvoHavok
June 28th 2017


7680 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I could criticize the previous two records for having somewhat undercooked closing tracks, but "Endless" rules.

Digging: Children of Bodom - Hexed

Sabrutin
July 1st 2017


5971 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Long Way Home though.



The progression from verse to chorus is just ~hot damn~



I like Endless as a closer. At first I thought too that it felt a bit misplaced but I think the lyrics fit very well a closing act

CusmanX1
July 2nd 2017


375 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Glad to see I'm not the only one who love that track, there's something in its chords progression that touch something really deep in me

RikRoach7
August 7th 2017


3595 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Been sleeping on this for two months since it came out and I regret both of them. One of their best releases probably, which at this point I honestly didn't expect.

onionbubs
August 7th 2017


11087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ayy this is good

Digging: La Dispute - Panorama

Whispered4tw
August 7th 2017


868 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It definitely has some nice tracks on it, although the album doesn't quite grab me as a whole like they did during their Violet to Pins & Needles era.

Games, Hex and Endless are fire tho

Gmork89
August 15th 2017


7808 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I Put it down for a while and came back, could be top 3 TBM for me now, but that changes frequently.

Acanthus
August 21st 2017


9812 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They've got a late Sept. tour for the USA, maybe it's time I finally saw them.



Not sure where this will fall for me, but not going to top Walking With Strangers, we'll see about the other albums though.

Acanthus
August 21st 2017


9812 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hex is my early favorite, I like the albums sound more towards the middle/end; reminds me more of what I liked best about the band to begin with.





Sabrutin
October 7th 2017


5971 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Can't make it to the show tomorrow, hope it won't take them another (almost) decade to come back year. I want to see them at least once

BallsToTheWall
December 14th 2017


49496 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Review sounds like it was written by a guy who just heard TBM for the first time. They've been doing covers like that for 15 years.



I still love you babe.



Bro, don't miss seeing them live.

Digging: Twin Temple - Twin Temple (Bring You Their Signature Sound....

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
December 15th 2017


15209 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've been dabbling in these for the last twelve years. And given on what they offer, that's exactly why I dabble in their work.

iambandersnatch
December 15th 2017


1804 Comments


band plays it too safe for my taste, but they have always been solid. Might be tempted to check them out again if they start being more bold with their choices though, they have a solid foundation

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
December 15th 2017


15209 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not going to lie, the production on this thing is fantastic.

BallsToTheWall
December 15th 2017


49496 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Touche Gonzo. I'm just happy that they're going dark again.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
December 15th 2017


15209 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's a solid record for sure, man. Like I say, from a production and aesthetic point of view I think it's one of this year's best.

Gmork89
December 15th 2017


7808 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Definitely in my top 10 this year.

foxblood
December 15th 2017


9488 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this was a really boring and trite album for me, i like their older stuff though

Sabrutin
December 15th 2017


5971 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think this is one of their more focused albums, perhaps their most. Killer production and tight filler-less writing with interesting moments like ~3:10 into Without You or the electric guitar swagger of Unkind. They never sounded so fresh and confident imo, not even in WwS which is actually my favorite TBM album (for now?). There are admittedly a couple of songs that feel a bit too safe but I'm not bothered because the polished production makes them go without pain imo (like the bounciness of the drums in Counterpane's chorus)



edit: sweet I just found what to paste in my 2017 list

foxblood
December 15th 2017


9488 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

the production is very good, but it's way too 'safe' to interest me



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy