alt-J Relaxer
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tunaboy45
August 7th 2017


15699 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's no 3WW, Adeline or Deadcrush

conditionals
August 8th 2017


539 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wait what? 'The House of the Rising Sun' as incredible?

I really want to like this album, but it's basically 4 good tracks sandwiched among either filler or awfulness.

jtswope
August 10th 2017


5688 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Deadcrush is bad. And House of the Rising Sun is alright but doesn't do much to warrant its existence.



Only great tracks are 3WW and In Cold Blood, 3WW being the best on here. Adeline is decent.

jtswope
August 11th 2017


5688 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Saw these guys last night. They were great. Good mix of everything in their discography.

conditionals
August 13th 2017


539 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^ did they still have the 4th touring member on bass?

Yeah they're great live

FourthReich
August 14th 2017


2395 Comments


i just saw them at outside lands and it was fxcking insane

Digging: Glassjaw - Material Control

jtswope
August 14th 2017


5688 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

@conditionals No it was just the 3 of them, but everything sounded nice and full.

conditionals
August 15th 2017


539 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Interesting, cheers. When I saw them in Sydney a few years back they had a 4th member who integrated himself so well that I was sure he would be added to the lineup. Ah well.

danielcardoso
Contributing Reviewer
August 22nd 2017


11569 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Only gave it one listen on Sunday, but i think i like this better than An Awesome Wave.



3WW is incredible.

Tunaboy45
September 14th 2017


15699 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Guardian, on why Alt-J won't win the Mercury tonight:





People Who Won't Win

Alt-J, because they’ve won it before. Also because they use smart production to hoodwink people into believing they write good songs, but without actually bothering to write hooks. An arrogant, talentless pox on the British music scene who really shouldn’t be further enabled

Gyromania
September 14th 2017


23789 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

3ww and Adeline rule. The rest is meh

Gyromania
September 14th 2017


23789 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No way is this better than wave

Tunaboy45
September 14th 2017


15699 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wave is yet to be topped

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 4th 2017


25173 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Last Year is so much more beautiful than I remembered

Might be tied with 3WW and Deadcrush as my faves

Digging: Belle and Sebastian - How To Solve Our Human Problems Pt. 1

tef
November 29th 2017


177 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

don't know why my sound off isn't showing here? So here it is:

Wow, wow, this album leads the pack of mediocre albums by big name artists in 2017. This album is seriously boring. Whole songs seem to pass without me noticing there's even music playing (Adeline, Last Year, first half of Pleader). Then there's that horrid cover verion that also only starts after seemingly minutes of me checking if the stereo is on. rThe other half of the album consists of one great song (In Cold Blood) and two ok songs (3WW and Deadcrush). rWow again, that these guys have the balls to release this.... Perfect example of one hit wonders that we're prematurely (in this case almost literally) rocketed into stardom, by magazines like NME, before they released their first proper album. rMy guess is this band will fall apart later this year or somewhere in 2018

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 29th 2017


25173 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Alternate take: this is their best album

Lucid
November 29th 2017


8812 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

average rating says it’s their worst. who to believe?

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 29th 2017


25173 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

everyone else is prob wrong tbh

FreddieDelaney31
November 29th 2017


3378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pleader is the best song here by miles

Digging: Blood Cultures - Happy Birthday

JesusCage
November 29th 2017


200 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

3ww and adeline still on top for me.. this album is divisive as shit.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy