Father John Misty Pure Comedy
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
nuklearmoose
March 23rd 2020


90 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

His music to me is so thought out/smooth. I love his chord progressions, and I've found that I use a lot a lot of diminished chords in my song sketches, because of him. It's just something I feel like I don't hear *too* much of in this area of music. His voice is also very easy to listen to as well, inviting really.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2020


20758 Comments


yeah those diminisheds def give the music a lil juice and unique inflection

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 23rd 2020


20806 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

what does that mean help

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2020


20758 Comments


hmm so major chords are (to put it too simply, perhaps wrongly even) a note with a note that is two full steps above that initial note and then a note that is one and a half steps above THAT one (aka three half steps). so a C and an E and a G are a major chord. they typically are said to sound "happy". then a minor chord is a major chord except the second note of the chord (i.e. the E in a C major chord) is one half step lower. these are said to sound "sad". and then a diminished chord is a minor chord except that the third note of the chord (i.e. the G in a C major or minor chord) is a half step lower. this kind of chord sounds very dissonant and "off", mostly because the relationship between the first and the third note in the chord is that they are six half steps away from each other, which is called a "tritone" which sounded so bad to medieval (?) priests and shit that they thought it came from the devil and it was effectively banned (?) from music at that period

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 23rd 2020


20806 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lmfao that's hilarious I had no clue, thanks for the quick lesson (: I knew about major/minor chords but not diminished, that's pretty cool!

nuklearmoose
March 24th 2020


90 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Diminished chords when used properly are awesome (in music other than jazz). FJM loves to use diminished chords that resolve to the tonic (first chord in the key), or V. Related side note: diminished is used a ton more in jazz and I don't really understand all that, just the basics. But a really cool example of a song that uses diminished chords and scales as a basis of the song is Jimmy Herring's Scapegoat Blues which everyone should hear

DoofDoof
March 24th 2020


8550 Comments


forgot this is a recent apocalyptic themed album

Nrap
May 30th 2020


454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

couldn't be more apt in 2020

GooGooGajoob
September 27th 2020


226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think it's a give in in 20years or so, this'll be possibly the best thing FJM made. Kinda shocked people think its boring. I fkn get emotional on the first two tracks its so gorgeous and by far a landmark in perfect production, mixing and the arrangements are beautiful.



Then the lyrics, what's not to be slapped by? Did this have some SJW mis-interpret to it at the time?

JWT155
October 3rd 2020


14728 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Agreed, I think this will survive as his magnum opus over time, very ambitious in terms of scope and really touched on a lot of topics that have surfaced over the past few years and post COVID-19.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy