Wicca Phase Springs Eternal SECRET BOY
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ZombieToyDuck
November 17th 2017


7076 Comments


I don't get it honestly lol, though the lil peep album for this year actually was pretty interesting, kinda crappy what happened there.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
November 17th 2017


25208 Comments


this def aint for everyone...Shut My Eyes is suchhhh a killer song tho (not off this)

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2017


3148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"tags: hip-hop, emo, indie rock"

It's kinda hard to define with tags; it's essentially emo vocals set atop trap-influenced cloud rap instrumentals. He's done stripped down work with just guitars, though, which might be more palatable: http://dispositioncollective.bandcamp.com/album/wicca-phase-springs-eternal-raw-and-declawed

That said, it has a very similar ethos, so it's not too different outside the sound itself, I suppose.

Digging: Darcy Baylis - A House Breaking

Gleam
November 19th 2017


434 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

since the thread for this album has been revived due to lil peep's untimely and overall just really fucking tragic passing, i gotta share my love for this album and say that it got me through lots of tough times over the past year or so, that it's a very innovative, forward-thinking and emotionally stirring trap/emo release that deserves much more credit and lauding than that which it's given, and also that "i'm not gonna do it" is da bombiest jam





rip peep hard tho, i never jammed any of these music cus i kinda suck with listening to hyped artists when they're relevant (i'm quite anti-hype and overall just hate hopping on bandwagons and prefer giving stuff an objective listen as soon as all the hype dies down), but not only was he wicca's homie but he was a human being who had caring people around him, who had die-hard passionate fans, and overall it's just a really fucked-up situation to witness tbh, even if the internet only allows as much as a passive, detached and desensitized look through a tiny window

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2017


3148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Indeed, Wicca's easily one of my favourite artists, and GBC as a whole deserve a lot more credit. Adam's album with Doves is probably my favourite of their catalogue. That or Stop Torturing Me. Have you jammed any of Peep's music since his death? I'm not a huge fan of some of it, but he also has some incredible stiff mixed in there.

Watching interviews with him and the rest of GBC, he was certainly a sweetheart and it was awful news. I hope you're well, man.

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2017


3148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still have Wicca, Nedarb, Horse Head, and Doves.

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2017


3148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So did Peep and Tracy, apparently. I respect the fact you don't like this, though.

Gleam
November 19th 2017


434 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@blushful, man, yk ur shit, the doves album is phenomenal







I MEAN THE WAY THEY WARP THAT SUFJAN SAMPLE ONTO THAT LINGERING DEPRESSING TRAP BEAT IS THE SICKEST THING

Gleam
November 19th 2017


434 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh, and answering your question, i haven't jammed any of his music yet but i plan on doing so in the mean time. thanks for the empathy but i'm aight, the situation just stopped me on my tracks a bit because i wasn't expecting it at all and it's always messed up when something like this happens to a fellow human being (regardless of how much of a celebrity or internet icon the dude was).

coldheaven
November 19th 2017


4787 Comments


I can't believe this is the same dude who helped write the first few Tigers Jaw releases. And I'm definitely not saying that in a positive way.

thisistrash

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2018


3148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh man, the new single is amazing.

butt.
November 9th 2018


6210 Comments


dammit i was just coming here to say that. You barely beat me. Yes new song is really good

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
November 10th 2018


3148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes!!! Ah, the beat is incredible. I'm so, so excited for the new album -- February, I think. Whole thing is supposed to be like this, with the acoustic, apparently a lot of Doves production too though I think this is Greaf.

I really wanna 5 this but I don't like I See You as a Dove that much. Everything else is incredible.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
November 10th 2018


25208 Comments


Oh man I missed his acoustic based old stuff. Might actually love this new album

hal1ax
November 10th 2018


14470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

not bad not bad

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
November 10th 2018


3148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hi again, this is me, at home I am

So wide awake, depressed for a lifetime

Coffee's up, my second cup, who gives a fuck?

I'm up at eight, I'm in bed by midnight




This song is so sad and dumb, I love it.

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2018


3148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

...new song with Lil B.

suppatime
November 16th 2018


1542 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

good song imo

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
December 5th 2018


3148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh man, none of these songs were even for his album. And another new single.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2018


25208 Comments


Spider Web is a rly good song, how's the full EP?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy