David Sylvian Brilliant Trees
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 13th 2016


15240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's as brilliant as you want it to be



the trees, they are brilliant

theBoneyKing
December 13th 2016


12968 Comments


Brilliant!

Digging: Bon Iver - For Emma, Forever Ago

RikRoach7
December 14th 2016


2652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definitely more in the way of giving off light imo, but it's a very gloomy light. It's got a beautiful atmosphere, like everything Sylvian did, really.

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 14th 2016


15240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

just waiting here for that new album that will never come

altertide0
December 14th 2016


2980 Comments


you're not alone.

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 14th 2016


15240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the two new songs from that 10" (which goes for a ton now) really got my hopes up



from the answers he gave on his facebook page, a tour is most likely never to happen and a new album is out of the question unless he gets enough ideas to make a cohesive work

altertide0
December 14th 2016


2980 Comments


wait songs? didn't he say a few years ago he's never gonna do "songs" again? how are they called?


"a new album is out of the question unless he gets enough ideas to make a cohesive work"
i love the attitude but hate the results

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 14th 2016


15240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

he put out a limited edition 10" for Do You Know Me Now? and Where's Your Gravity? three years ago



the latter was on the Victim of Stars compilation



been considering just getting the copy available but the price is a bit steep for my liking, especially when I could get a copy of Blemish or Manafon for cheaper

https://www.discogs.com/David-Sylvian-Do-You-Know-Me-Now/release/4907308

altertide0
December 14th 2016


2980 Comments


ah ok, i know these. thought there's something newer

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 14th 2016


15240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I wish there was something newer, but they definitely have held me over for the time being



Gravity really reminds me of Blemish in its approach, but it's definitely another one of his "pop deconstruction" songs he's so fond of

altertide0
December 14th 2016


2980 Comments


I don't know, it's kinda dense (jazz/dub/strings) whereas Blemish is very bare bones. But it has a similar trance-like quality, if that's what you mean

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 14th 2016


15240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

there we go, that's the aspect I was thinking of



Blemish, thanks in no part to Fennesz, has a very hazy quality to it, almost dreamy if you like



the detail is lost on some speakers, but Gravity has this very vague beat to it that is all but lost on cheap speakers (and pretty much comes across as just noise and ambience)

altertide0
December 15th 2016


2980 Comments


Life's for the taking so they say
Take it away

savage

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 15th 2016


15240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

brutal

CaptainDooRight
January 4th 2017


2229 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

rules hard

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
January 4th 2017


15240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you know it

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2017


15240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah this rules

CalculatingInfinity
November 10th 2017


7597 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

1st half is superb, 2nd half is blegh.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
November 10th 2017


16823 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

The t/t is in the second half tho and that song's amazing.

Digging: Tame Impala - Currents B-Sides & Remixes

CalculatingInfinity
November 10th 2017


7597 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Don't like the kinda shrill flute (or sax? Not sure), kinda kills the song for me. Plus it's like a dreary funeral march musically until the second half.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy