In Flames Battles
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AgentDeathbat
February 7th 2019


7346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

As a Battles defender myself, literally everything sans (This Is Our) House that they've released for this > all of this album, and this new track is no exception.

Digging: From Autumn To Ashes - The Fiction We Live

Toondude10
February 7th 2019


13641 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

ehh, it's okay



chorus is actually kinda catchy though

Digging: Demon Hunter - War

AgentDeathbat
February 7th 2019


7346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I mean it's definitely not the best song they've released for the new album, but I'd definitely take four of the five songs I've heard so far above the entirety of this... and you can see my rating here. I'm projecting a pretty easy 3.5/5, a 4 from me would be a miracle when "(This Is Our) House" exists, and that is in the top 5 for worst In Flames songs.

Toondude10
February 7th 2019


13641 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

it'll probably either be either a 2.5 or a 3 for me

AgentDeathbat
February 7th 2019


7346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I can respect that, I'm just too much of a stan for them to fully agree.

TetraVaal
February 7th 2019


94 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I agree with Agent.



Other than that one cringe song, the new tracks so far have actually been better than anything they've done since 'A Sense of Purpose'. That may not be saying much, but the last two albums were so bad, that I'll take an album consisting of songs like 'Burn', and consider it a respectable return to form for them as far as this sound goes for them.

zaruyache
February 7th 2019


20365 Comments


ye that one metalcore track they released was surprisingly passable. could be not a dumpsterfire for once.

Digging: Downfall of Gaia - Ethic of Radical Finitude

AgentDeathbat
February 7th 2019


7346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@Tetra: [2] except I'd change ASoP to SOAPF and you know how I feel about this and Siren Charms.

AdolfChrist
February 7th 2019


19695 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

well it probably wont be a straight 1, so, yay?

Digging: Mylingar - Doda Vagar

AgentDeathbat
February 7th 2019


7346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not even this was a straight 1 for me... in comparison to older In Flames I can see 1.5-2 making sense, but I try to separate this and Siren Charms from classics like Colony or Whoracle.

AgentDeathbat
February 7th 2019


7346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah it doesn't have a ton of staying power.

Toondude10
February 7th 2019


13641 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

separating this from their older stuff still doesn't help, this is still a terrible record

AgentDeathbat
February 7th 2019


7346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ehhh I'm not hearing it. then again I can even tolerate that Thousand Foot Krutch album everyone seemed to hate. its not good, but it ain't a fucking 1.

ButtBoy
February 11th 2019


1856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I had to spend about 8 hours in the car and on trains today, so I spun pretty much their whole discography (most albums for the first time). At some point during Playground, it dawned on me that almost every time he screamed it was that pitched sing-scream thing. Which he's really good at, so I wasn't too irked by it. But then during Siren Charms and especially Battles, that technique was basically gone and he was only singing. It sounded like the band moved to Hollywood and started recording albums with John Feldmann. All the uniquely Swedish influence their music had been stripped entirely, and everything became bubble gum hard rock. So sad. But I'm listening to the new singles again, and they definitely sound like a step in the right direction. Pretty fun day for me. When I woke up this morning, I only really knew about 6 or 7 In Flames songs.

alamo
February 11th 2019


918 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeah esp siren charms every fucking song is like low verses - high pitched yelled autotuned choruses...... like soooo unexpected

ButtBoy
February 11th 2019


1856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

the autotune really threw me off. It was the first time I could reeeally notice his vox being tampered with (in a bad way). and the first line of that closing song...ugh

ButtBoy
February 11th 2019


1856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

lmao. just read their wikipedia page and saw that this album actually was produced in LA.

I'm fucking mad

DungeonBoy
February 12th 2019


5412 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ah yes, by Howard Benson nonetheless who also produced timeless artists such as P.O.D., Hoobastank, Seether, Three Days Grace, Skillet, and Kelly Clarkson. Dude knows how to make a great metal record.

Digging: Dawn - Apparition

Toondude10
February 12th 2019


13641 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

he also produced the new album as well



seriously, that man needs to be removed from the music industry. He kills music careers for a living.

ButtBoy
February 12th 2019


1856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

How on Earth could a pioneer of melodic death metal go to THAT man to produce a record. How.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy