Avenged Sevenfold The Stage
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TVC15
November 1st 2016


9735 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If s/t had the dynamics of this or HTTK it'd probably on the same level (or maybe even higher) as this tbh

Digging: Archgoat - Whore of Bethlehem

Hawks
November 1st 2016


58691 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

S/t sucks yeah.

Digging: Eucharist - A Velvet Creation

Hellscythe
November 1st 2016


2825 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

s/t is awful

Titan
November 1st 2016


19051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

s/t is right on par with the rest of their stuff

Digis
November 1st 2016


25 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

s/t is just pretty fucking boring.

StrikeOfTheBeast
November 2nd 2016


1313 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Self-titled is a good album imo. I don't have any serious complaints for it.



I like this a lot too. Shadow's vocals are continuously strained, but I dig this more than I expected.

Typhoon24
November 2nd 2016


1877 Comments


afterlife has a sick solo and the rev had a cool voice in general. that's about as much praise as i'd give s/t

SteakByrnes
November 2nd 2016


12702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's a weird coincidence that once The Rev passed away, so did their ability to write music

Digging: ERRA - Neon

GreyShadow
November 2nd 2016


2446 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Self-titled gets so much shit and excluding httk, it may be their least interesting from a technical standpoint but it's pretty catchy. And A Little Piece of Heaven is awesome.



Digging: Foxing - Nearer My God

72haha72
November 2nd 2016


479 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Man, I tried to listen to this whole album and I just can't. With the exception of 2 or 3 songs (Sidewinder for example), everything they've done after Waking the Fallen makes me cringe. These guys were my heroes in high school (well over a decade ago), but I've been progressively disappointed by the butt rock/stadium bullsh!t metal direction they took since City of Evil. Granted, it's not as bad as the painfully lame Hail to the King, but I just can't stand this band anymore. The review, though, was pretty well written .

vonseux
November 2nd 2016


286 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Listened to it today and DAMM what a mess. Every song on this record sounds like a leftover from City of Evil. The band makes several steps back on this release, but not on a good way. It's like pretending "Steal This Album" from SOAD is an actual LP.

No song stands out, even s/t had immediatelly catchy songs as Almost Easy, Afterlife...



The vocals sound dead tired and sometimes cringe-worthy (what happened to M.Shadows?). Production is worse than the two previous releases.



The proof of the lack of stenght on this released is the live video from the top of the Capitol Records tower published 3 days ago were they play... old songs!



I guess this band is over, I'm really sorry about it because after Nightmare and Hail they had a great momentum



Shadowmire
November 2nd 2016


4566 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0



NYdubber
November 2nd 2016


95 Comments


Love this album musically -- the vocals, though. :shudder:

Hoping for an instrumental release.

MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
November 2nd 2016


1295 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can see this getting an unofficial instrumental definitely: production geeks the world over - take that as a challenge.

Voodude711
November 2nd 2016


1 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is really growing on me as I listen, but Matt's voice has taken a step back. I don't agree that he's always had a nasal quality (I think it was gone by the self-titled album where he had a nice variety of tones and a big, full sound), but on this album he definitely does.

72haha72
November 2nd 2016


479 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

3.6 is the actual rating of an AVENGED SEVENFOLD album??? I must be getting old for this website. Funny, because the first time I entered this website was to write a (badly written) review of their s/t back in 2007.

Digis
November 2nd 2016


25 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i actually think they deserved some better ratings on this site. I mean, as far as mainstream metal goes, they actually do some pretty good things. Fanbase ruins it all tho.

bloc
November 2nd 2016


51359 Comments


Where is A7XEric

Digging: Karate High School - The League Of Tomorrow

72haha72
November 2nd 2016


479 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I guess that as far as mainstream music goes, they are alright. But I think they could do way better.

MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
November 2nd 2016


1295 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck, my most viewed review so far, this really means a fuck-ton to me.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy