Meshuggah The Violent Sleep of Reason
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
evilford
September 8th 2022


56690 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Wew, cold blooded

Digging: Artificial Brain - Artificial Brain

el_newg
September 22nd 2022


1657 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

By the Ton just gets better and better and better

evilford
September 22nd 2022


56690 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

All of it yea

BigPleb
September 22nd 2022


65237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Def better than Immutable, this one gets an unusual amount of flak.

Relinquished
September 22nd 2022


47978 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I guess it’s their most inaccessible in terms of how THICC it sounds but it definitely sounds much better than Koloss which to me is most accessible Meshuggah so idk the fans are weird

BigPleb
September 22nd 2022


65237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's quite impenetrable yeah, but idk I feel like for any first time listener all their work would sound like that.

Relinquished
September 22nd 2022


47978 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nothing’s a fairly (relatively) easy listen

normaloctagon
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2022


983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Im not even sure it’s the production that makes it inaccessible, to me there was something about the style that didn’t gel for a while. It’s almost like, looser than a lot of their modern stuff? Hard to put into words



Would hardly put Koloss as most accessible shug. That’s obZen or the Nothing re-release

peartnoy
September 23rd 2022


1841 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The production on this destroys the one on Immutable. Also Clockworks is better than all the songs on Immutable. I don't make the rules



evilford
September 23rd 2022


56690 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You're not wrong, but your rating is

Wildcardbitchesss
September 23rd 2022


7410 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Alright evil, I know there’s probably a million other places I can ask this, but where do I start with this band?



This was just so forgettable to me but I literally haven’t listened to it since it dropped. I liked Immutable a bit more but it still didn’t do much for me.

Wildcardbitchesss
September 23rd 2022


7410 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Like, I’m not trying to force myself to like this band but they are pretty much universally loved by metalheads and I just don’t get it.

evilford
September 23rd 2022


56690 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Try Nothing (or) the nothing rerelease.



But it's possible they're just not your thing. If you've already heard 2 of their albums and you're not digging them too much, that could be the case.



Don't get me wrong, there's absolutely nothing wrong with giving them another chance. But nothing is for everyone, even (gulp) my favorite band

Wildcardbitchesss
September 23rd 2022


7410 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah that’s what I’m feeling right now, they’re just not for me.



Having said that, I saw them at a festival a few years back and they killed it, so I’m definitely willing to give them a shot. I’ll check out your recs for sure.





Wildcardbitchesss
September 23rd 2022


7410 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Plus, converge is like my favorite band and theyre opening for them so if those guys see something in them then there’s gotta be something for me to like here.

Relinquished
September 23rd 2022


47978 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

don’t miss out on Torche too

peartnoy
September 23rd 2022


1841 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@evilford



Just not the biggest fan of this band overall. There are a few select songs I quite enjoy but overall I can't seem to get over how monotone this band is, and trust me it's not for a lack of trying.



I Am That Thirst was the only song I legit enjoyed on Immutable. Maybe the most melodic Meshuggah song I've heard and it's quite nice.

evilford
September 23rd 2022


56690 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Just giving u crap

Wildcardbitchesss
September 23rd 2022


7410 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah I’m in that camp. There’s some cool riffs here (and across their discog tbf), but the vocals are super one note and every song starts to sound the same if I listen for more than hour or so.

Sry, meh band

BigPleb
September 23rd 2022


65237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

*cries in polyrhythm*



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy