Opeth Sorceress
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BigPleb
September 11th 2019


59800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Enjoyed both, especially Dignity.

Trifolium
September 11th 2019


8997 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah they were alright! Super happy that the production doesn't seem to be completely fucked up like here. That is one of the main offences of Sorceress.

Pikazilla
September 11th 2019


3545 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, production is the best they've had in ages.

starboystargirl
September 11th 2019


555 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

sorceress sounds like it was recorded underwater

Trifolium
September 11th 2019


8997 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

And through something really cheap, that makes it all overblown, oversaturated, too bass heavy but hollow.

Sabrutin
September 11th 2019


6373 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Yeah, production is the best they've had in ages."



Where ages means the grand total of 1 album? haha



Pale Communion (and Heritage is no joke either) is pretty much some of the best sounding rock music after the 80s and that's no hyperbole. Even the CD master was made with decency.

Trifolium
September 11th 2019


8997 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah I think PC and Heritage had delish production. But for some weird reason they botched it here, and I even remember how happy Mikael was about it.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2019


18723 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3 | Sound Off

I don't know if it's the production or the instrumentation, or a combination of both, but these days PC sounds so vintage and classic rock to me at kind of an exaggerated, goofy level.

Heritage is way more organic and unique imo due to both the songwriting and production being so top notch.

Sorceress is fine with the soft sections but doesn't have enough punch for the heavy sections. The live versions of The Wilde Flowers, t/t, and Era from Live at Red Rocks, which I reviewed recently, sound better than the studio album versions in a lot of ways.

In Cauda Venenum nails it all with having more modern production reminiscent of GR and WS, and the heavy sections sound great. I prefer the loopy unpredictability and loose rhythm section of Heritage, but the new one is easily their best since.

Digging: Opeth - In Cauda Venenum

Trifolium
September 12th 2019


8997 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"I prefer the loopy unpredictability and loose rhythm section of Heritage, but the new one is easily their best since."

Yeah that loose feel of Heritage is so perfect. Nothing but love for that album.

Sounds kind of good though about ICV, very curious about it.

BigPleb
September 12th 2019


59800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've said it before but Mikael mentioned in a recent interview that this album wasn't mastered because he doesn't really understand the whole process.



Kinda explains why everything sounds so brickwalled on here.

Trifolium
September 12th 2019


8997 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha wow! Didn't know that. That's almost cute haha!



... Pity it left us with that overblown sound.

BigPleb
September 12th 2019


59800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Basically said he doesn't understand the difference between mixing and mastering so just didn't bother with the latter.



Apparently the vinyl of this sounds much better, even then the songwriting falls short anyway.

Trifolium
September 12th 2019


8997 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hmm yeah, we'll always have that to deal with too.

Good to know what caused that horrible mix though! Or I should say "master".

BigPleb
September 12th 2019


59800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hoping for some sweet, ethereal earworm sections on the new record, this album seriously lacks cohesion in spots.

Trifolium
September 12th 2019


8997 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really can't ever remember much from it.

Beardog
September 12th 2019


3047 Comments


I find it hilarious that he just didn't bother mastering, you really hear the difference

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
September 12th 2019


18723 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3 | Sound Off

According to wikipedia, a grammy nominated record producer and audio engineer named Tom Dalgety produced and mixed the album. Mikael is credited in a secondary role (maybe someone with the CD or vinyl and can read the credits confirm this) so as far as I see it Tom is more responsible, especially if Mikael admitted he didn't know what he was doing.

kalkwiese
September 13th 2019


4044 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I remember how they said in the teaser videos how good the mixing was. Yea.



The frustrating thing about this album is how it's never as good or bad as I remembered. It leads into a spiral of constant disappointment

Trifolium
September 13th 2019


8997 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah indeed. There was one specifically on the topic of mixing/mastering if I'm not mistaken. Makes the actual end product even more infuriating grrr!

BigPleb
September 13th 2019


59800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Grrr indeed.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy