M.I.A. AIM
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Sinternet
September 15th 2016


21555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

she's done a ton of work for humanitarian struggles and shit what's ridiculous about that

Asdfp277
September 15th 2016


21935 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

did he just not mention a ridiculous opinion from her

Gyromania
September 15th 2016


29525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just re-downloaded kala, one of my favourite albums. will make it around to this eventually but not super hyped after the lukewarm reception it's received

Sinternet
September 15th 2016


21555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

not exactly a hugely ridiculous opinion, maybe blunt and slightly generalising, but that's also cherry-picking to the extreme

Sinternet
September 15th 2016


21555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

doesn't deserve this muted reception tbh, not her best (imo Matangi was) but it's still powerful, quirky and enjoyable, just a bit more simplistic and straightforward

Gyromania
September 15th 2016


29525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

if i loved kala and maya and arular but didn't care much for her last one, would i dig this?

Gyromania
September 15th 2016


29525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh damn, seems like we have different opinions on m.i.a. idk though i only tried matangi once, maybe i should revisit

Sinternet
September 15th 2016


21555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it definitely has most in common with Matangi, but with more of a trap influence



i'd say check it out anyway tbh, there are a couple of duds, but it's pretty much standard for her to have a couple of filler tracks on each album

Sinternet
September 15th 2016


21555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah i think matangi is kind of hard to process in one listen, there's a lot going on

Gyromania
September 15th 2016


29525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cheers brother, i'll give it a listen tonight. i've always enjoyed m.i.a. and tend not to let popular opinion get in the way (especially with maya). i'm sure i'll end up enjoying it

Sinternet
September 15th 2016


21555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah i never really got the negative reception around Maya, while i liked her earlier stuff i liked the noisiness of that album

ShitsofRain
September 15th 2016


8191 Comments


lyrics like "tell your new bitch she can suck a dick" on here?

PostMesmeric
September 15th 2016


772 Comments


This was a pretty dull record.

gryndstone
September 15th 2016


1423 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, it is more simplistic and straight forward, which is something i really don't associate M.I.A. with. When I think of her music I think of stuff much more energetic and hectic than this, which is mostly just. flat duds

RogueNine
September 15th 2016


4163 Comments


Same color with same blocky black text and a picture thrown in. Seems pretty similar.

Sinternet
September 15th 2016


21555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah i get what you mean that it sounds flat, but idk i think it suits her. I'm sure people will warm to this in time anyway, that was the case for Maya anyway

LotusFlower
September 16th 2016


12000 Comments


"it's like a sub-par major lazer record with a middle eastern theme"

this sounds like a very bad thing, wont listen

CaliggyJack
September 16th 2016


3439 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I said her opinions are ridiculous. Doing humanitarian work isn't always opinionated. I can admire the charity work she has done, find her a good person and still find her general opinions on things wrong to a large degree.

Tyler.
September 16th 2016


17693 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

well that's nice

Asdfp277
September 16th 2016


21935 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

looked it up on google, she said she was worried about kids seeing violence at such a young age + people not knowing what it's actually like irl, nothing ridiculous really you're exaggerating



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy