The Dear Hunter Act V: Hymns with the Devil in Confessional
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Drifter
March 12th 2019


16051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Casey said a couple years ago that Act VI wouldn't be a rock album which honestly makes me upset if he's just planning a symphony.



"I heard them mentioning doing a full album of how Indigo sounded, I don't know if it will relate to the acts or not though."



Also yeah he needs to come out with this already. Hardest of 5s

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
March 16th 2019


16248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so according to FB post, the Acts are done for now. he left the possibility of Act VI being completed later but he wants to devote his time to other passions. I'm assuming writing more symphonies and screenplays n shit now

Toondude10
March 16th 2019


14034 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

probably, wouldn't mind that since he's so good at it

botb
March 16th 2019


13226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I still need to listen to that orchestral stuff he did under his actual name

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 16th 2019


32066 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

He should just do rock acts like IV and V for the rest of his life

Digging: Lana Del Rey - Norman Fucking Rockwell

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
March 16th 2019


16100 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

*the rest of time

Digging: Macaroom - Homephone TE

veninblazer
March 16th 2019


10076 Comments


inb4 this becomes a 4.4 or 4.5 in a year

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2019


42371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

https://www.instagram.com/p/BvC01ayHxEZ/



Act 6 is a screenplay (at least at this point)

Toondude10
March 16th 2019


14034 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm tempted to order that boxset, but fuck me it's so expensive

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 16th 2019


32066 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

I love this album (as evidenced by that 4.3), but I'm slightly miffed that this has a better average than Act IV. This is ever so slightly more cohesive, but I feel like it lacks any true peaks (maybe 'The March'?). IV is full of brilliant choruses that are impossible to forget, while this is more like a steady wave of pretty melodies. Both are good in their own right, but IV has always stuck with me automatically, whereas I find myself having to talk myself into putting IV on the shelf in order to listen to this. Anyone feel the same way? Or am I just the oddball again?

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2019


42371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

IV isn't even slightly cohesive and has so many weak songs they should have stuck to it being an EP



...imo of course

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2019


18721 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I haven't listened in a while but remember IV being more histrionic and tiring whereas this is more consistently beautiful and sounds pretty effortless.

Digging: Opeth - In Cauda Venenum

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 16th 2019


32066 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Rowan how does our taste have such widespread overlap yet we can't agree on anything lmao



What are the weak songs from IV? I actually don't think either act has "weak" moments, I just prefer the memorable choruses/huge hooks of 'old haunt', 'waves', 'a night on the town', 'is anybody here', 'squeaky wheel', 'bitter suite iv/v', 'king of swords' and pretty much the whole album. V just doesn't have a list that large (gloria, the moon, melpomene, the march) although it's still definitely beautiful.

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 16th 2019


32066 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

and I'll definitely concede to talons' point that V sounds less try-hard than IV, there's definitely a more natural air about it



but since IV's histrionic efforts result in some of the catchiest melodies of the decade (and/or in my entire life), i'm ok with it lol

Drifter
March 16th 2019


16051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nah act IV is super duper amazeballs all the way through

botb
March 16th 2019


13226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I def like this better than 4 but 2 is still my favorite

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2019


42371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

lol it keeps our talks interesting eh sowing



I've just never understood the intense love for that album. If All Goes Well is borderline terrible and maybe their worst song, The Line is pure filler and easily their weakest acoustic tune, Wait is just awful budget Red that I can't believe made the album let alone single release (it basically sounds like Royal Blood or one of those bands tbh). the album also doesn't really kick off till Night on the Town for me; while admittedly Waves is catchy I don't think it fits on the album at all like I said before, Earth/Remembered are pretty unmemorable and - as much as I absolutely froth that reprise in The March, on that we agree - The Old Haunt's chorus is one of those histrionic moments Talons mentioned that does very little for me, it sounds so forced



now the run from Night to Abandon, + Ouroborous? that's some prime Dear Hunter right there. actually even if you cut the album down to those songs it would still be an "EP" that's basically as long as most band's albums, so I guess really what I take objection with is them going in intending to record an EP (as they said at the time) and expanding it to a 70+ minute album with little narrative justification (the entire narrative really takes place in the run of good songs I mentioned + Act V)

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2019


42371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

II is absolutely 100% the best, agreed, even the shitty production doesn't stop that absolute unit of an album

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
March 16th 2019


16100 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed on Act II but oh my goodness, the opening stretch of Act IV is much stronger than that! Agreed on not much happening narrative-wise, but also Act III took things to such extremes that having an ease-in felt appropriate for a return to the series

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 16th 2019


32066 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Hmm...I agree with you *slightly* but to a far less extreme, basically just that 'If All Goes Well' --> 'Wait' is a weak run of songs. However, I'd add that tracks from V such as Mr. Usher are actually worse, and recall a slightly more theatrical Panic at the Disco (I actually think he sounds like Brendan Urie on that song and it irks me). Otherwise, V is more consistent (which remains in line with my original stance), but never ascends to any heights as gripping, i.e. I HAVE TO HEAR THIS AGAIN, as basically 50% of IV.



So, I'll say this: is IV slightly overinflated? Yes. Although I disagree on the extent - for me, they could have cut that aforementioned 3-track run prior to Ouroboros and not lost much steam. But to say it should have been an EP is borderline blasphemous to me and I hate that notion even though I love you.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy