Caladan Brood Echoes Of Battle
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dedes
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2016


10168 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I suppose you're right regarding the whole beautiful thing it just feels like its harder to find anything melodious in black metal than in other metal genres. But I guess theres bands like Eldamar and (of course) Summoning. I'm tempted to say Deafheaven but I find it difficult to regard them as being predominately black metal

porcupinetheater
August 31st 2016


11051 Comments


I don't know, there's a lot of beauty in black metal, probably more than any other genre, it's just generally conjured more from the atmosphere it establishes than the melodic lines.

But even then, there's quite a bit of stuff that goes in a similar vein to this - Saor, Windir, Mistur, Winterfylleth, recent Panopticon, etc. (albeit less synth-y)

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
August 31st 2016


11659 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the cascadian scene as well, wolves in the throne room etc.



i totally separate this from the other epic/folk bm. like there's the windir's and saor's and then there's the summoning's and caladan brood's on the other side

porcupinetheater
August 31st 2016


11051 Comments


Yeah, they're definitely playing different sorts of styles, but just the fact that beauty in a lot of those bands come through the atmospherics and the melodies together, not just the atmospherics (as it would, I'd say, in something like Walknut or Vinterland)

Rastapunk
September 1st 2016


1561 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

How did this get two negs?



As far as the beautiful thing in BM goes, i've found that 99% of the times I've found BM beautiful was because of the atmospheric part of the band. Windir is an oddity, his BM was completely different than what I've heard so far. Also, Vallendusk makes me feel positive when I listen to them (at least the first album) which is pretty rare in the BM world.



I was actually thinking about reviewing Caladan Brood but never got to doing it. The rating won't change though.

Hawks
June 15th 2024


90689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No bumps in almost 8 years???

ToSmokMuzyki
June 15th 2024


11758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

wasnt the flagged one dedes got it when prom'd

ToSmokMuzyki
June 15th 2024


11758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

games was it until march LOL

Pikazilla
June 15th 2024


30493 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah this wasn't originally the flagged review

ToSmokMuzyki
June 15th 2024


11758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

i concur

Hawks
June 15th 2024


90689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice thank u Pika I didn't fully understand what Smok said until u doubled down. Thank god.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy