Frank Ocean Blonde
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Romulus
September 11th 2019


8536 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@lucid i totally agree that this is just a whole nother level from CO

nolerthebowler
September 12th 2019


3966 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

but y

Lord(e)Po)))ts
September 12th 2019


44723 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I said hello

Digging: Louis Cole - Time

nolerthebowler
September 12th 2019


3966 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hello foxy potsy

Lord(e)Po)))ts
September 12th 2019


44723 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

That's better

nolerthebowler
September 12th 2019


3966 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Self control is frank’s best song tho.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
September 12th 2019


44723 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Lost is the only Frank Ocean song I jam

dmathias52
September 12th 2019


840 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Seeing this pop up so often on the front page made me revisit it again. And dang it deserves a bump to a five

Digging: Courtney Swain - Between Blood and Ocean

rabidfish
September 12th 2019


5345 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

pink + white is really underrated. Slik production, a cool bassline, a clear progression from verse to verse. A very simple idea, but fully developed. If he had more songs like this, i think that'd be neato burrito.



But yea, people who fuck with this album prolly think this was too normal for Frank "streamofconsciousness4life" Ocean.

Digging: (Sandy) Alex G - House Of Sugar

plane
Staff Reviewer
September 12th 2019


7722 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I think there is a difference between songs that sound stereotypically “tight” and tight songwriting. The songwriting here is tight through careful consideration of what makes it malleable. An obvious classic.

Digging: Blood Cultures - Oh Uncertainty! A Universe Despairs

rabidfish
September 12th 2019


5345 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i disagree, but i have no solid argument against what you're sayin lol... Sorry for the hatin, y'all, i actually like FO, i just think he has so much untapped potential and that he really needs to work with more solid structured songs for it to trully shine through.

plane
Staff Reviewer
September 12th 2019


7722 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Endless has a lot of that and the loosies have been superb. But I also think Pink+White is the weakest track here so we definitely have separate desires of Blonde.

rabidfish
September 12th 2019


5345 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

damn son, smdh.



U probably won't like this one, i asume.



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g3hBYTkI-sE

Romulus
September 12th 2019


8536 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

pink + white was def the most immediate one here for me and i still really love it! the piano hits in the background are sublime

plane
Staff Reviewer
September 12th 2019


7722 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Uh what does Use Me have to do with Pink+White? Two different songs...

rabidfish
September 12th 2019


5345 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

similar instrumentation and development over a simple structure, basically. Just pointing out what i'm looking for when i listen to soul music.

nolerthebowler
September 12th 2019


3966 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

idk stuff like the vocal delivery on futura free, or the spoken outro of Siegfried seem pretty damn aimless/not tight to me.



I think the music on this album is sublime almost without exception, most of my hiccups come from the lyrical delivery “pretty fuckin! Underneath moonlight now” “thinking a dream of a thought in a dream thought dream thought etc.” “fuck these niggas they don’t want nun, fuck em fuck em *mumble mumble* wash ur lips first lick the tip naooo”



Like if any artist who wasn’t frank ocean delivered lyrics like that I’d find it cringey, so I don’t think it’s crazy to say it’s cringey in frank’s case too

nolerthebowler
September 12th 2019


3966 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet Life > Pink + White

nolerthebowler
September 12th 2019


3966 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and since I’m on a roll



Andre on Pink Matter > Andre on Solo (Reprise)

Romulus
September 12th 2019


8536 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

truly nothing wrong with sweet life but i just find those two albums to exist on like totally different ~existential planes~ if that makes any sense. not necessarily one being better than the other, even though i prefer blonde



like 'you had a landscaper and a housekeeper since you were born' vs. 'in the wake of a hurricane, dark skin of a summer shade' - it's almost two different artists to me. pink & white is the most immediate song here and even it's mysterious and evocative in a way i don't find his prior works



but they're both quite good and i can very much see someone preferring channel orange!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy