Blood Incantation Starspawn
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
chug73
December 6th 2017


3167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is massive osdm worship but it's done so well.

I have always been a fan of the osdm trend so I guess I'm a fucking poser

Scoob
December 6th 2017


4241 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Idk it's up to snox to decide that

MayhemWithMercy
December 6th 2017


6186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is osdm with a modern production coating

chug73
December 6th 2017


3167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There are a few studio tricks they have used to to make an otherwise modern album sound "vintage" but it still has a warmth not found in a lot of modern metal production.

It really pays off in the drums, which have a dry as shit snare but quite organic sounding bass sound

MayhemWithMercy
December 6th 2017


6186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think the drums are fine. I've heard much worse anyway.

trilogique21
December 6th 2017


1363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

drums are god tier on this one tbh



the production in general is some of the best i've heard in the past few years. great stuff.

Digging: Tchornobog - Tchornobog

chug73
December 6th 2017


3167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They sound great.

EvoHavok
December 7th 2017


7313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A lot of death metal has some of the best production out there lately, which is lovely.

Evokaphile
December 7th 2017


6511 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah ur right about that, the new Phrenelith album has one of the best production jobs Ive ever heard too.

Digging: Less Art - Strangled Light

Jacquibim
Staff Reviewer
December 7th 2017


2219 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

generally anything dan lowndes is involved with sounds fantastic

Kusangii
December 7th 2017


1653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Gotta jam this again, been too long

chug73
December 7th 2017


3167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

do it

WretchedCacophony
December 8th 2017


336 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't think there are any production tricks done here? They recorded this entirely with analog equipment, and I don't think they wanted to add anything else to take away from that sound.

Digging: Darkthrone - Transilvanian Hunger

Astral Abortis
Contributing Reviewer
December 8th 2017


3812 Comments


Definitely no tricks or anything modern about the production here. All analogue equipment used. Also the idea that this is "osdm" worship is weird considering this is very much its own thing. There's no such thing as "osdm" - death metal has remained largely unchanged since the start, and any ways in which it has changed have branched off into other genres. If anything, it should be more common to label certain bands "modern" death metal or tech/slam/brutal/prog/etc. whatever identifier, considering the amount of bands that do not sound "old school" without having a sub-genre tag to them are perhaps so few that it's redundant to bother labelling the majority of things as "old school".

And so to continue my initial point: Blood Incantation play progressive death metal that takes it to new places whilst still firmly standing in the genre's roots, like basically all other death metal bands do.

WretchedCacophony
December 8th 2017


336 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think this guy knows a thing or two about metal

Egarran
December 8th 2017


4336 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You should still argue with him.

Digging: Sanctuary - Refuge Denied

Scoob
December 8th 2017


4241 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Agreeed

Astral Abortis
Contributing Reviewer
December 8th 2017


3812 Comments


I do like a good death metal debate.

Scoob
December 8th 2017


4241 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ok how's this

Effigy is overrated

Astral Abortis
Contributing Reviewer
December 8th 2017


3812 Comments


Well I’d first rather discuss the inconsistencies present in the use of the word “overrated”, which puts other people than you as implicit for your lack of enjoyment - learn not to blame others for your shortcomings.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy