Saves the Day Through Being Cool
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
tectactoe
May 15th 2019


2237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Popped this in for the first time in a while yesterday. I swear it never gets old. Holly Hox + Third Engine has to be one of my favorite one-two combos of all time.

accompliceofmydeath
May 15th 2019


4896 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Very excited to see these guys at This is Hardcore. Really hoping they play a lot from this.

Digging: Higher Power - 27 Miles Underwater

tectactoe
June 4th 2019


2237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

As craptastic as much of their new stuff is (Under the Boards and beyond, mostly, with a few decent tracks here and there), they still play a ton of shit from their old records when they play live. At least that's been my experience, though it's been a few years since I've seen them now.

accompliceofmydeath
June 4th 2019


4896 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, that's been my experience, too. I imagine they'll rely even more heavily on their older stuff at TIHC.

decisions
July 12th 2019


489 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I CAN SEE SOME DOGS

tectactoe
July 19th 2019


2237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

YEEEEAH BARKIN' IN THEIR BACKYARD

Finally listened to Saves the Day's latest album ("9") and it legitimately might be one of the worst things I've ever heard. Total cringe-fest.

At least we will always have this and Stay What You Are. (And Can't Slow Down and, to a slightly lesser extend, In Reverie. Everything else can vanish for all I care.)

decisions
July 19th 2019


489 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Best-in-genre tier: Through Being Cool, Stay What You Are



Top-tier: Can’t Slow Down, I’m Sorry I’m Leaving



Decent-tier: In Reverie, Sound the Alarm



Rest is wtf-tier

tectactoe
July 19th 2019


2237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Forgot about I'm Sorry I'm Leaving, love that record, too.

Agree with your tiers pretty much, except I still think In Reverie owns Sound the Alarm by a large margin. STA is at least tolerable. Everything after that, *especially* Under the Boards, self-titled, and 9, are difficult to listen to.

OwMySnauze
July 19th 2019


2039 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

nothing can beat the Can’t Slow Down/Through Being Cool line up.

Digging: abstracts - HOLOGRAM

decisions
July 20th 2019


489 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You mean the Through Being Cool/Stay What You Are lineup? because Can't Slow Down had a very different lineup than TBC.



I like In Reverie and STA pretty much equally. In Reverie probably has more inspired songwriting, but a the vocal performance on STA is much better. Both albums have a few great tracks next to ones that are just OK. On In Reverie I love She, What Went Wrong, and Wednesday the Third. On Sound the Alarm I love Delusion, Bones, and Eulogy. Now if In Reverie could've somehow had SWYA vocals, that would be a hell of a record. I will admit the new vocal style suits the atmosphere sometimes, but that's about, 20% of the time, where the rest of the time when I listen to it I'm like "OK let me just enjoy this in terms of melody, composition, and just not focus on the vocal delivery".



onionbubs
July 20th 2019


12298 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

under the boards opens really really strongly and falls off a cliff

Digging: Copeland - Eat, Sleep, Repeat

onionbubs
July 20th 2019


12298 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

stay what you are

sound the alarm

this/can’t slow down

in reverie

under the boards/daybreak

self titled











9

tectactoe
July 21st 2019


2237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn STA above this and can’t slow down? shots fired.

i agree this lineup was the best, mostly because eban was the bess bass player they could’ve hoped for.

chris’s voice went to shit after STA imo, he started doing this weird nasally high pitched thing i can’t stand. makes UTB, Daybreak, and S/T hard to listen to. each have a few decent songs and that’s about it.

9 is an embarrassment to music everywhere.

honestly the run from can’t slow down to in reverie is great and so at least we’ll always have that.

decisions
July 21st 2019


489 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ah you know what today I jammed In Reverie and Sound the Alarm and decided while they're not as good as the first three, they are still great records. Like actually pretty good albums. I could see myself bumping them both to 4s. If they kept up that quality I would probably be celebrating STD as the best pop-punk band of all-time.



After 9, Chris needs a vocal coach, and a request to Dave Soloway to rejoin the band. Like not sure what the hell happened for that album.

tectactoe
August 9th 2019


2237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I definitely enjoy In Reverie for what it is. Much more now than I did when it was first released, too. (I was expecting Stay What You Are: Part II and was upset when we didn't get it.) I like some songs on STA (Bones is my favorite) but the album as a whole is just...eh.

Even aside from the run-of-the-mill musicianship, song structure, and awful vocals on 9, the songwriting is just pure garbage. One of the things that made late-90s/early-00s STD so great was Chris's poeticism. That has all but withered down to a petrified turd.

onionbubs
August 9th 2019


12298 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

9 is just kinda baffling as to why anyone would want a saves the day album entirely about being in saves the day



like who the fuck is that album for

tectactoe
August 9th 2019


2237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'like who the fuck is that album for'

saves the day

onionbubs
August 9th 2019


12298 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i dont even know how they could connect with it when the whole album is literally



"hey our name is saves the day weve been around for a while and i own a guitar"

decisions
August 9th 2019


489 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah the lyrics/songwriting on the new stuff just seems like it was written by a totally different person than the early stuff.

y87arrow
October 14th 2019


465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"There was a time when each iteration of my “top ten albums” list that I’d scribble in my notebook would vary ever-so-slightly in every single spot except for #1, which was inherently reserved for Through Being Cool."



Yeah I agree I also have my own music world with my own legendary albums even if the artists aren't well known in reality. I like making lists on this site it's as if all the artists getting awards, and I can honour them as often as I want.



Listened to the album for the first time at work (my first album of them), very nice, I like the vocals, the lyrics, the bass guitar and how many of the songs are made. I may be 32 years, but sometimes I can identify with it. For me there isn't a "I got too old for certain albums" thing, because of my autism, I will never really mature in certain things. But that's really ok for me, it means that I will always like / love all the albums I liked many years ago.

Digging: Autoclav1.1 - Love No Longer Lives Here



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy