Wes Borland Crystal Machete
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2016


15810 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed Tuna, I would love to add this to my collection; I'm not holding my breath on it though.

Digging: Desert Sessions - Volumes 11 and 12

RadicalEd
May 9th 2016


9546 Comments


Review is a bit to fanboyish for me.

DoofusWainwright
May 9th 2016


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The mellow tunes on this are good



The stuff like the t/t is way too sickly for me

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2016


15810 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@radicaledWell if you're a fan of blb there's nothing you can't like about it. It hit every button that does it for me - apart from "end credits".

bloc
May 9th 2016


58382 Comments


Fuck this gimme the bizkit

Digging: Black Devil Disco Club - Disco Club

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2016


15810 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I want new Bizkit, but I'll just listen to this until the new one decides to drop.

RVAHC13
May 9th 2016


826 Comments


Is this album why the new LB hasn't come out yet?

DinosaurJones
May 9th 2016


10150 Comments


Definitely want to hear this.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2016


15810 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

According to Wes, the music is already recorded, they're waiting on Fred to do vocals. He said they recorded a shit load of songs and all Fred had to do was pick the ones he liked best... nothing since.



DinosaurJones
May 9th 2016


10150 Comments


Further proof that the band of Limp Bizkit is pretty decent and Fred just makes them suck.

SandorClegane
May 10th 2016


221 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The track Crystal Machete is Blue Monday. There, I said it.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2016


15810 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A large amount of New Order influence here for sure.

bloc
May 11th 2016


58382 Comments


Wow really? Maybe I should hear this then

EDIT: ok never mind, this is crap

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2016


15810 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2016


15810 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just ordered the vinyl for this. buzzzzz

lisztophobia
October 24th 2016


1 Comments


doesn't seem like this album has gotten reviewed on many of the big music review sites.

as someone who hasn't heard much limp bizkit and doesn't have a lot of preconceptions (good or bad) about wes borland, i found this album mad decent. it basically starts out like a guitar-focused, minimalist post-rock album. then it expands into some other adjacent styles like kraut rock and synth pop. there are some tracks that remind me of the jazz-fusion influenced chicago post-rock band tortoise, with an abundance of bell/xylophone sounds and jazzy guitar tones.

it's not really groundbreaking stuff, but borland weaves together a few different styles in a way that's tasteful, melodic, and relatively coherent. so it feels like an eclectic tour around some genres of progressive & electronic music that doesn't take any really crazy wrong turns. and the quality of the playing is very good.

i liked it. i would recommend it to post-rock fans in particular, since that's pretty much the kind of album that it is.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy