Kevin Morby Singing Saw
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Moderator
April 26th 2016


32850 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7 | Sound Off

Worth a listen either way, but I'd say this should appeal to the Mattson/Dylan crowd more than other types of folk fans

Digging: Coldplay - Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends

Atari
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2016


25218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is probably his best, but man I'm loving his last 2 albums as well.

Digging: Origami Angel - Somewhere City

theBoneyKing
April 26th 2016


17864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gave this a listen - I definitely like it, though I expect it'll take a handful of listens before it really sinks in.



I particularly liked the closer - it's probably the Americana influence you point out, Sowing. It's the kind of song that breathes a sense of redemption, and it's a great way to close out an album as clearly reflective as this is.

Digging: Elliott Smith - Either/Or

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 26th 2016


32850 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7 | Sound Off

I haven't heard his other two albums but I am going to make a point to now.



And the closer wasn't my favorite at first, but it's really really growing on me now, as are a lot of the less flashy tracks.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2016


25218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

his first album is pretty straightforward and has some pacing problems, but still life is almost on par with this for me (not quite though). been listening to all 3 of his albums all day long :]

alabasterjones
April 28th 2016


160 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This dude's lyrics are kinda cringe-worthy, IMO

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 28th 2016


32850 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7 | Sound Off

I feel like his lyrics are hot and cold



Sometimes, like the lines I quoted in the review, he seems really profound. But yeah a few lines here and there are overt clichés or just plain predictable

theBoneyKing
April 30th 2016


17864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So this is really great, but I feel like Morby's singing and lyrics kind of hold it back from excellence. The lyrics are pretty strong but only a couple of the songs touche me as truly moving, and Morby's vocals are for the most part just passable. The arrangements are excellent tough!

"Water" has prevailed as my favorite, though "Destroyer" and the title track are also amazing.

brainmelter
April 30th 2016


6734 Comments


so I'm confused, there are two Kevin morby records out rn?

Digging: Ana Frango Eletrico - mormaço queima

theBoneyKing
April 30th 2016


17864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No, the other one on the front page right now is his 2014 release.

RadicalEd
May 2nd 2016


9546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So. This is actually good.

theBoneyKing
May 2nd 2016


17864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yes, quite.

I love the guitar work in the title track.

RadicalEd
May 3rd 2016


9546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Guitar work is consistently good and not just cookie-cutter standard the whole time. Also the usage of trumpets on the second track is just great.

Pangea
May 3rd 2016


3252 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

2nd track is the best

CrisStyles
May 9th 2016


775 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

His vocals definitely remind me of Dylan, Kurt Vile and Leonard Cohen at times.



I just started listening to him and this album is pretty good but I think I enjoy Still Life a lot more, personally.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2016


25218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they're both fantastic, but yeah I do wish more people would get on Still Life :/

klap
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2016


12202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

imo:



Dorothy

Water

Black Flowers

I Have Been to the Mountain

Destroyer

Drunk and On a Star

Cut Me Down

Ferris Wheel

Singing Saw

Aids
May 11th 2016


24460 Comments


hey someone who knows me, would I like this?



Aids
May 11th 2016


24460 Comments


woah Klap with the 4.2, nevermind

will check

klap
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2016


12202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

ya get his older stuff too



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy