The Jezabels Synthia
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Moderator
February 14th 2016


33683 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My Love Is My Disease is one of the best songs here



Flowers In The Attic is such a gem

Digging: Ellis - Born Again

Shiranui
February 14th 2016


580 Comments


Unnatural might be a perfect song.

Piglet
February 14th 2016


7912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

am i seeing things or did zak's fairly innocuous comment get deleted?

zakalwe
February 14th 2016


30373 Comments


Fascists!!!

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 14th 2016


33683 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One week on the job and people are already calling for my head

AngryJohnny
February 14th 2016


984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm also going to have to check out their back catalogue. This is great

SJK
February 15th 2016


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

After the epic Prisoner album my expectations for The Brink were bloody high. Perhaps that's why I was so disappointed that the album simply didn't reach any high points. Synthia is a welcome return to form and I'm loving it.



Come Alive is menacing and beautiful and a favourite, along with Disease. To be honest there are simply so many great tracks on this album that get better with every listen. Music that makes you proud to say that the Jezabels are Australia's finest band by some distance.

JS19
February 15th 2016


7465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This brings back the massive, airy atmosphere from Prisoner that made the band so special. Yes

JS19
February 15th 2016


7465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh and Stamina jeeeeeesus

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 15th 2016


33683 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This has drawn some moderate interest but I'm honestly surprised by its lack of exposure. It's not even on metacritic.

Piglet
February 15th 2016


7912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i know it's disappointing isn't it

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 15th 2016


33683 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not necessarily disappointing, just surprising. I thought they were really taking off.



This site knows them well enough, perhaps I was just projecting those expectations to the rest of the internet.

Pangea
February 16th 2016


3770 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Every song on here is atleast great

Digging: Andy Stott - Passed Me By

noumenon111
February 16th 2016


9 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not frothing on this as hard as everyone else. Still getting a slightly too 'light' vibe from this; I loved Prisoner for it's brooding, subversive darkness. The Brink was way too poppy for me. IMO Prisoner > Synthia > The Brink. EPs are great too. That said, I love the singles.

omnipanzer
February 16th 2016


21826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

omgderivitivesnoozefest

TheFantasticDangler
February 17th 2016


2050 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol derivative

filloryandfurther
February 17th 2016


4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So far this album has received great reviews from the Australian press and the occasional blog, but very little coverage from anywhere else, with the exception of the Guardian review, which was writen by a reviewer who focuses on australian artists.

We'll have to see if it will get some reviews from the global press in the following days or if it will pass under the radar, cementing the band as local sweethearts (deservedly so, due to their talent and all the shit they're going through) but as sort of a cult band everywhere else.

brandontaylor
February 17th 2016


917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah this album is definitely the best thing they've put out so far

Piglet
February 17th 2016


7912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it would be nice if anthoney fartcasino and bitchstalk would review this yeah

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 18th 2016


33683 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Boy has "A Message From My Mothers Passed" really grown on me the past few days...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy