Dream Theater The Astonishing
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TronaldDump
August 18th 2018


665 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Mixed bags versus empty bags.

Xenorazr
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2018


1438 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

They better start filling those bags with actual, quality substance.

kalkwiese
August 18th 2018


3919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is still more interesting than the self titled album tbh

Digging: The Hirsch Effekt - Holon : Hiberno

Davil667
August 18th 2018


3814 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

If you mean by interesting uninspired, direction- and meaningless then you‘re right.

Xenorazr
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2018


1438 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Self-Titled: Almost-expired trail mix with too many raisins.



This: Raisins and expired turkey jerky.

LelandAB
August 20th 2018


442 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Self-Titled was pretty solid, lots of great John Myung moments on that one.

Maco097
August 20th 2018


3086 Comments


Both are not good at all.

TheClansman95
August 20th 2018


2178 Comments


ST wasn't bad, although far from their glory days

Digging: False - Portent

Toondude10
November 2nd 2018


13982 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

new album next year



apparently it's a "return to roots", whatever the fuck that means

Digging: Teramaze - Esoteric Symbolism

bloc
November 2nd 2018


56999 Comments


lol that's what they all say

Digging: Ultravox - Vienna

Evok
November 2nd 2018


7728 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

too bad their roots are just more pointless prog-glam-wank

Digging: S.P.Y. - Dubplate Style

Xenorazr
Contributing Reviewer
November 2nd 2018


1438 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

This album truly killed any enthusiasm I had for these guys. They'd have to bust out some Six Degrees-tier material to convince me.

kalkwiese
November 3rd 2018


3919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

s/t was what they considered to be their roots, right? opefully it's more like ADToE, I really liked that one

Voltimand
November 3rd 2018


1056 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Apparently they polled fans on what the new album should sound like and the results were ToT and SC.

Xenorazr
Contributing Reviewer
November 3rd 2018


1438 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

I mean, I have always had a soft spot for ToT and while I'm not the biggest fan of SC, it does tie with BC&SL for my favorite DT album production-wise.

kalkwiese
November 3rd 2018


3919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I dig Train of Thot, too, but I don't think James can pull off vocals like that anymore. I thought the poll a just for fun thing, would be a shame if they really went after it

Beardog
November 3rd 2018


2885 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I think they are really desperate to get widespread appeal, their production updates were only talking about how this was going to be 'the best of Dream Theater' and it was gonna be 'a record for the fans' etc... Problem is, most people listening to DT are either obnoxious (Porntoy > Mangini reeeee) or think everything the band has ever done is amazing... I just want them to get an outside producer

Digging: The Offering - Home

Underflow
November 3rd 2018


4867 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Apparently they polled fans on what the new album should sound like and the results were ToT and SC.



Lol if you have to poll your fans on your new sound you aren't into making the music anymore.

Underflow
November 3rd 2018


4867 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

I dig Train of Thot, too, but I don't think James can pull off vocals like that anymore.



He couldn't pull them off back then either; he sounded awful.

Beardog
November 3rd 2018


2885 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Yeah I don't know if Dream Theater has any inspiration left in them anymore



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy