Tame Impala Currents
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DDDeftoneDDD
February 14th 2020


13030 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'm gonna set at 3.5 but still don't know if its growing like a mofo or dropping like another.

Digging: Exotic Animal Petting Zoo - Tree of Tongues

dedex
February 14th 2020


4635 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

It already grew off me on second listen. Fuck.

Digging: Damso - QALF

DDDeftoneDDD
February 14th 2020


13030 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

aaaaah you suck...anyway...there's a rev now. Album is pre good, 3 tracks on the middle did little on me for now (On Track, Lost in Yesterday f.e. are meh)

One More Year, One more Hour, Borderline, Posthumous Forgiveness and It might be time are pretty cool tracks though

dedex
February 14th 2020


4635 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I was so hyped with today's releases (Tame Impala and Kvelertak) and both disappointed me on the first two listens :-(

DDDeftoneDDD
February 14th 2020


13030 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

wait,, there's a new Kvelertak? I don't know why you had hopes with that...they're all about the debut. The sophomore is pretty ok as well friendo...after that they went the revival unhearted psych stuff...so if they keep on that road it's like...eh

DDDeftoneDDD
February 14th 2020


13030 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

oh wait, only 10 rates but big AVG

dedex
February 14th 2020


4635 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

imma decrease that avg

on third listen the new Kvelertak is growing so it's something

DDDeftoneDDD
February 14th 2020


13030 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Will get to that one...maybe you woke up grumpy, no gf/bf?



yeah...I already knew this one despite the no rate. It is better than the new one...the vibe there is very exquisite/ special tho

dedex
February 14th 2020


4635 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Nah it's a beaut of a day, and I was excited to jam these records



And no gf atm but gonna get shitfaced either way tonight

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 16th 2020


35717 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Finally got around to this and it just sounds like a weaker version of The Slow Rush. It's not bad per se, just not impressive in any specific regard other than the super slick production. Basing this off one listen but with the other three albums at my disposal I don't see much point in returning to this.

Digging: Movements - No Good Left To Give

FrFRfr
February 16th 2020


155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ooo interesting take. I was thinking there was a chance you'd like this more than the new album, but I guess not.



It's funny that if you swap out 'The Slow Rush' with 'Currents' in your first sentence, you get what some people are saying about TSR.

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 16th 2020


35717 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Granted I'm only 1 listen deep, but Currents felt like groovy, well produced but very standard pop. Slow Rush feels like prog-pop. Even after several listens I still feel like I'm not certain what's around the corner.

Valkoor952
February 17th 2020


3604 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wouldn't classify slow rush even remotely as prog-pop tbh, for me it is the album where he kind of discards it almost entirely. Let it Happen and Yes I'm Changing are more prog-pop than anything on the slow rush

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
February 17th 2020


18965 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

The longer songs here are proggier than anything on The Slow Rush

Digging: Gazpacho - Fireworker

MrSirLordGentleman
February 17th 2020


13546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I find Currets to have a way proggier sound than Slow Rush

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 17th 2020


35717 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Granted I'm only 1 listen deep

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2020


25800 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Try being 1 tab deep

nolerthebowler
February 17th 2020


4883 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[2]

SandwichBubble
February 18th 2020


12132 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Between this and the new one, there's about one album's worth of really good material.

AmericanFlagAsh
February 18th 2020


9853 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This one just has a certain spice to it that the new one does not

Digging: Kelly Lee Owens - Inner Song



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy