Cradle of Filth Hammer of the Witches
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tunaboy45
July 10th 2015


17009 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So glad this is good

Flugmorph
July 10th 2015


22515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Maybe o have to listen to this then

Crysis
Emeritus
July 10th 2015


17470 Comments


if we’re being honest, none of Cradle of Filth’s guitarists have ever been gifted riff-writers


Like Hyperion said I really disagree with this. I'm not a big fan of this band but on their old stuff they unleash some pretty sick riffs on a consistent basis.

Digging: Heaven Shall Burn - Of Truth & Sacrifice

Willie
Moderator
July 10th 2015


18605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

--You might want to consider taking the second "they" out.--

Yeah. I re-read the review a few times and ran that spelling/grammar check, and it still managed to slip by. There's no doubt my review-writing is rusty as hell at this point.



--disagree with this pretty hard, back during the dusk/cruelty era when they had Stuart that dude wrote the best riffs theyve ever had. cruelty and the beast is basically non stop good riffs.

other than that i dig the review, although i cant help but think a lot of the praise for this album is more because theyve been so average for so long that seeing a little bit of a creative spark is more surprising than anything else.--


I always remember those two albums for the melodies and guitar harmonies, so I went back and listened again. There are some good riffs on there, but the keyboards still dominate. I'll adjust the wording, though, because those two were definitely better guitarists than I'm giving them credit for.

They have been average for so long, but the two albums before this one were steps in the right direction, but they still didn't get any real praise from me because they didn't meet the same quality as their early stuff. This one really does.



--Willie likes CoF???? Now THAT'S something I wouldn't have seen coming.--

I liked them up through Midian. The last two were okay, as well.



--Hmmm I pretty much disagree with eveything in the first paragraph. Since Godspeed the guitars have taken a major backseat to the keyboards I feel like.--

That's strange that we can hear the same albums and hear two fundamentally different sounds. Ha ha. The guitar melodies have taken a back seat, but the riffs (or attempt to riff) has taken priority.



--I don't think I could ever take this band seriously considering the only songs I've ever heard from them are from their truly awful newer stuff--

You should download the Vempire EP.



--I absolutely love their first four LPs plus Vempire ofc so I'm pretty curious to see how this one feels like.--

It most closely resembles Midian, but there are influences from their earlier stuff too.



--Like Hyperion said I really disagree with this. I'm not a big fan of this band but on their old stuff they unleash some pretty sick riffs on a consistent basis.--

Ha ha. See my comment above ;) If you liked their old stuff, at least give this a shot.

Digging: Testament - Titans Of Creation

Hawks
July 10th 2015


73730 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah I would say this sounds most like Midian and Dusk mixed with a touch of their more modern sound.

Vakarian12
July 10th 2015


4091 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

right wing of the garden triptych is one of the best songs they've done

InFlamesWeThrash666
July 10th 2015


9523 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's my least favorite here tbh

Digging: Cara Neir - Part III / Part IV

Vakarian12
July 10th 2015


4091 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Whats your favorite?

adr
July 10th 2015


12079 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

tities~

InFlamesWeThrash666
July 10th 2015


9523 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yours Immortally and Onward Christian Soldiers. I still like Right Wing tho

Flugmorph
July 10th 2015


22515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i cant see how i could dig this

Hawks
July 10th 2015


73730 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

They're all great tbh. That's why this is easily the best since Midian.



If I had to pick a fav though it would be either Enshrined in Crematoria or Blackest Magick in Practice.

StrangerofSorts
Emeritus
July 10th 2015


2905 Comments


The Times' review: 'From the "leave me alone Mum, I'm 12 now" school of rock comes Cradle of Filth..."

Willie
Moderator
July 10th 2015


18605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Cheeky British humor...

Hawks
July 10th 2015


73730 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hahahaha that's actually pretty funny.

Tunaboy45
July 10th 2015


17009 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"From the "leave me alone Mum, I'm 12 now" school of rock comes Cradle of Filth..."





riiiiiiight

Willie
Moderator
July 10th 2015


18605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Well, I'm sure that dude doesn't know anything about the band besides the fact they're another 'Marilyn Manson' style band from Suffolk (the rural part of England). Easy to make a quick joke review for.

Tunaboy45
July 10th 2015


17009 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

never been fond of The Times, but yeah decent crack

GuanoBumbershoot
July 10th 2015


1659 Comments


I once was a 12 year old jerking off till nothing came but a puff of dust, wearing a Cradle shirt that said "speak to the hand, the face burns with hatred" on the back.

Willie
Moderator
July 10th 2015


18605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

That's awesome. Never saw that shirt. I've never been a fan of band T-shirts. Never been a fan of any giant artwork on the front of my shirts. I had a Lagwagon T-shirt that just said 'Lagwagon' across the front with a picture of two chicks fighting on the back. It said something like 'Spreading Negativity Since 1989' or something like that.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy