Down I Go
This Is Disastercore


4.5
superb

Review

by Mort. CONTRIBUTOR (55 Reviews)
April 4th, 2015 | 45 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This Is Disastercore

If there’s one thing that sets Down I Go apart from their contemporaries, it’s the tongue-in-cheek nature of their raucous brand of post-hardcore. Endeavoring to make an album about disasters is no easy feat, as one could easily either get too serious and come off as contrived or not do the subject justice by making ill-judged attempts at humor. Down I Go excel by making themselves quite clear in what they've set out to do through their brazen-faced flippancy. As vocalist Pete Fraser wheezes, squeals, coughs, vomits and spits his way through lyrics like “OH NO!! EVERYBODY’S DEAD” with hilariously fake despair it’s hard to mistake Disastercore as being serious.

But the line between amusing and terrifyingly serious is blurred as Down I Go juxtapose chaotic, twirling riffs and panic-stricken screams with bouncy, catchy guitar rhythms and lyrics about the danger of balloons . Album highlight “Stay At Home and Die” features a mock announcer who authoritatively asks us “Have you ever fancied quarantine"” and declares that there’s “An end to public gatherings, stay at home and die!” with a hint of malevolent glee. The song fades out over an anarchistic riff that repeats over and over as ambient noise ominously bubbles away in the background and an ominous whispered lyric of “Don’t go, outside”. In contrast, the next track “Bird Hips/Lizard Hips” focuses on the extinction of the dinosaurs and for some reason this means scat singing is in order, which really shouldn't work but does, and the song then seamlessly falls apart into an almost bro-down mosh section. It’s unexpected, brash, and ridiculous, but somehow it works.

The range of vocal styles on Disastercore is one of its most impressive features as Pete punctuates the sound between every shout with a pig squeal, sputters like a plague victim and gibbers like a madman. Not only that, but gang vocals are often used to full effect for sinister chanting and choir singing, giving a sense of majesty to the tragic proceedings. In fact, “Lament of the Mournful Sailors” is entirely composed of a repeating chant of “WAY OH,” though on this song it lacks any sort of atmospheric quality given the simplicity and repetitiveness of the lyrics.

My only problem with Disastercore is that ideas that could have been, and are, resigned for shorter sections in songs get painfully stretched out into whole song ideas. “Lament of the Mournful Sailors” is a nice interlude track, but it lacks any standout quality as the chanting comes off as self-indulgent and unnecessary especially when the technique is used on other tracks to a much greater effect. Down I Go are at their best when they’re erratic and all over the place, dissonant riffs slammed together with weird vocal styles and a dark sense of humour, true Disastercore.



Recent reviews by this author
Kero Kero Bonito TOTEPThe Garden U Want The Scoop?
Wolf Alice Visions of a LifeSeeYouSpaceCowboy... Fashion Statements of the Socially Aware
Unsane SterilizeGeotic Neptune
user ratings (35)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2015


14231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Johnny for the feedback



A Wasp In a Jar video - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RJC8pJ7xbB0



Stay At Home and Die (Best track on the album imo) - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pnMvsr5GwwA

Digging: Noise Trail Immersion - Symbology of Shelter

Tunaboy45
April 4th 2015


16734 Comments


Great review mort, have a pos

Digging: PUP - Morbid Stuff

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2015


14231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks man



Dont know how much you like posthardcore but this is an underated classic/needs more attention imo so at least checkone of the songs i linked

cryptside
April 4th 2015


2397 Comments


Awesome review, Mort. Pos'd. Will definitely check this, sounds up my alley. Also, looks like you left off the period in the last sentence.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2015


14231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oops thanks man, dont know how i didnt notice that

cryptside
April 4th 2015


2397 Comments


All good, there's always something little that I miss on my reviews too. You can read it a million times without picking up on it lol. Really nice work though. This band sounds awesome.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2015


14231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, Tyrants and gods are worth checking aswell

Tunaboy45
April 4th 2015


16734 Comments


I'm not a massive fan of it but there are certain bands I enjoy (eg, Million Dead, Captain We're Sinking). I'll listen to one of the songs you linked now.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2015


14231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah this isnt really that sort of post hardcore haha

Tunaboy45
April 4th 2015


16734 Comments


Yeah I know, just listened to those tracks.
Pretty insane, I actually liked them more than I thought I would.

DanielNightLewis
April 4th 2015


1028 Comments


I love this band and album. The review nails everything good about this band as well.

The melodic/atmospheric bit at the end of "Stay at home and die" is one of my favourite endings ever.

Can't wait for the new record too!

DanielNightLewis
April 4th 2015


1028 Comments


Oh and pos'd obviously!

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2015


14231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh yeah, theyve got a new record coming!



and its about iceland haha

demigod!
April 4th 2015


49295 Comments


sounds interesting

what bands would you compare their sound to? post-hardcore is so hit or miss for me. usually miss when it comes to stuff after 2004 or so

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2015


14231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Look what i did although ive barely heard much of them





This is from this album - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RJC8pJ7xbB0



and this off their ep "Gods" - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ud6qGFH6pjE





Dolving999
April 4th 2015


1816 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha, written on the very day I decided to listen to this!



Anyone know where I can get the lyrics for this? Can't seem to find them anywhere...

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2015


14231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

its very hard, i wanted to use other lyrics but couldnt find them anywhere haha



i actually bought the cd and it should be coming next week so ill post them somewhere once i get the booklet

Dolving999
April 4th 2015


1816 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"i actually bought the cd and it should be coming next week so ill post them somewhere once i get the booklet"



I don't know if you're gonna laugh or cry at this one, but I found a review for the album and it said "The inlay booklet for “This is Disastercore’ details not lyrics, but information about all the disasters covered in the accompanying tracks".



If this is true, then goddamit, I fucking loved the lyrics on Tyrant and this one seems to have potential (still haven't figured out most of the disasters that the songs relate to, other than the titanic, the zeppelin and the meteor that killed dinosaurs)

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2015


14231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh for fuck sake





The tracklist on here was all the actual events but i replaced it with the proper tracklist haha



Stay at home and die is about the influenza outbreak, billion dollar coffin is about the challenger disaster,a wasp in a jar is the plague and reactor 4 is chernobyl

Dolving999
April 5th 2015


1816 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Would never have guessed Wasp in a Jar...



Overall, I think Tyrant is their best. I'm an avid history fan, and also the ensemble parts on that album are some of the best I've ever heard.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy