Steven Wilson Hand. Cannot. Erase.
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Thrust!
February 22nd 2018


4967 Comments


Trains is and always will be one of my favs

Digging: Devin Townsend Project - Deconstruction

kalkwiese
February 22nd 2018


1450 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Happy Returns, guys

But this has so much to offer, it's amazing. I have a soft spot for Perfect Life for some reason.

Xenorazr
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2018


1346 Comments


Gave it a second listen while going for a drive today, Happy Returns and especially Ancestral grew on me. I also got a Six Degrees (Dream Theater) vibe from First Regret/3 Years Later, though DT were probably paying homage to the same artists SW is inspired by, but since I'm not terribly versed on those older artists, I'll just leave it at that.

Xenorazr
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2018


1346 Comments


Happy Returns has been tearing me apart.

BigPleb
February 26th 2018


54509 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Best solo Wilson ye.

zakalwe
February 27th 2018


25676 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I definitely appreciate this one a bit more. Routine is fucking great.

Azkushang
March 8th 2018


84 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is a masterpiece. One of the best of the decade and century.



In order the 4 best as I think right now.



Fear of a Blank planet > Hand Cannot Erase > Raven > In Absentia





Digging: The Lemon Twigs - Go To School

kalkwiese
March 8th 2018


1450 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I just can't get into Raven, don't know why. This is fantastic though

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
March 8th 2018


17706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Raven is excellent but I prefer most PT to it. Wilson's best ranked for me would be In Absentia > The Sky Moves Sideways > Stupid Dream > Deadwing > Hand. Cannot. Erase. > Signify > Storm Corrosion > Lightbulb Sun = Up the Downstair > Fear of a Blank Planet > To the Bone > Grace for Drowning > Raven = 4 1/2

Digging: Toby Driver - They Are the Shield

Xenorazr
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2018


1346 Comments


Of the albums I've heard thus far, this would be my mostly tangible ranking: Hand. Cannot. Erase. > Fear of a Blank Planet > In Absentia > Deadwing > To the Bone

I feel bad putting Deadwing so low so early into my exposure, since Arriving Somewhere has quickly become one of my favorite songs, but the entire album, as great as it is, is pretty inconsistent. That said, I'm happily taking my time with each album because I'm getting so much mileage with each one.

Azkushang
March 8th 2018


84 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Need to hear the others again to rate the order properly.

Tunaboy45
March 27th 2018


16562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ancestral hadn't lost any of its impact when he played it again on Sunday, could feel myself tearing up on the first solo

Digging: IDLES - Joy as an Act of Resistance

Xenorazr
Contributing Reviewer
March 27th 2018


1346 Comments


The last 3 minutes of Ancestral always bring the frisson.

Tunaboy45
March 27th 2018


16562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

on the HCE tour when he played Routine with the video... that was intense

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2018


17706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yea Routine and Ancestral live were amazing when I saw him in 2015. I'm glad I got to see him when he toured for his best album since Deadwing. Might try to snag a ticket for his upcoming show in April if someone's selling theirs, since it got sold out pretty quick.

Tunaboy45
March 27th 2018


16562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also the upcoming Royal Albert Hall shows are being filmed for a blu ray release so that's exciting

Xenorazr
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2018


1346 Comments


4:11 - 5:09 on Routine is absolutely chilling

SoccerRiot
April 7th 2018


5350 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I absolutely love that really high note that Ninet Tayeb hits on Routine before its outro

neekafat
May 16th 2018


12143 Comments


Is this actually that good tho

SoccerRiot
May 17th 2018


5350 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes. I actually prefer this album to most of PT's stuff nowadays. Then again, I don't really love PT like I used to... for whatever reason, they've really grown off me in recent years (although I know my ratings don't quite reflect that yet)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy