Panda Bear Panda Bear Meets the Grim Reaper
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TwigTW
January 25th 2015


3652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Do my ears deceive me, or did he really sample the strings on Tropic Of Cancer from The Nutcracker Suite, sounds like it's about to burst into 'Pas De Deux' at any moment . . .

Digging: Talk Talk - The Colour of Spring

granitenotebook
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2015


860 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

very solid review. nice analysis of songs. clearly you actually know what you're talking about. and fair rating.



gripes: could do with a bit more album-whole analysis, kind of reads like a track by track trying to act like it's analyzing the album. (I've written my fair share of these too don't worry) and also sometimes things are just a little awkwardly written. i.e:



"If Panda Bear has now met death and its physical manifestation known as the Grim Reaper, it has turned out to aid in the birth of one of the most diverse albums that Panda Bear has created to date, and nowhere near his musical downfall."



could definitely come across as a little repetitive/redundant. try something more like:



"If Panda Bear has now met the Grim Reaper*, it has aided in the birth of his most diverse album**. He hasn't died yet.***



*death + grim reaper is redundant **either this or "an extremely diverse album", clear opinions are better ***or something along those lines, I get what you're going for. plus I separated the sentences cause the one is long enough.



Sorry if I'm being kind of hugely nitpicky and/or overly critical but I used to write more like this and just kind of had to teach myself how to write more fluidly so yeah



wasn't a huge Person Pitch fan so I was very surprised by how good this was, definitely my fav. 2015 album so far, not that I've heard that many

Thuglifethor
January 31st 2015


150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I see what you're saying, I can definitely work to continue to write more fluid reviews down the line. Thanks for the feedback man, it's much appreciated

Kman418
February 4th 2015


13271 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

only heard this twice but i enjoyed it significantly more the second time

Cygnatti
February 4th 2015


32757 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's way okay

PurpleBottle
February 17th 2015


225 Comments


Boys Latin video is fuckin intense as fuck nd shit

I agree with the review

PurpleBottle
February 17th 2015


225 Comments


Lonely Wanderer is so gorgeous.

tropic of cancer .. I mean .. I get it but like ugh panda bear why?

LilLioness
February 21st 2015


2994 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is on par with MPP for me. A couple of great songs and the rest is pleasant enough to listen to idly.



The "Boys Latin" video is pretty sweet, yeah.

ciregno
February 27th 2015


468 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

How can this have the same rating as Tomboy? Really?

AmericanFlagAsh
April 1st 2015


8663 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I completely forgot this came out this year...

Digging: Stella Donnelly - Beware Of The Dogs

Valixous
June 15th 2015


71 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this album so much! So much detail, so many effects, so many layers, so much melt! Good review too!

wtferrothorn
August 20th 2015


5800 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

new ep came out yeyeyeyeyeyeye

skeames1214
September 7th 2015


3179 Comments


lil disappointed in Avey and Noah's last two solo efforts tbh

Kman418
September 7th 2015


13271 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yea this has its moments but its not as amazing as everyone says

RadicalEd
October 8th 2015


9445 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Not a fan of this record, but "Boys Latin" is a jam at least.

Digging: Maurice Louca - Elephantine

YetAnotherBrick
October 8th 2015


6691 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you really shouldn't drink that other drug!

wtferrothorn
October 30th 2015


5800 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

https://soundcloud.com/anmlcollective/panda-bear-swallow-at-the-hollow

here's a 26 min. mix of unreleased material from the Grim Reaper sessions. enjoy : )

Kman418
April 25th 2016


13271 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol holy shit the demos of this are so much better, theres soooo much more going on texturally wow

sonic boom really neutered this

danielcardoso
January 27th 2018


11770 Comments


The new EP is pretty good, Part Of The Math in particular.
Mr. Noah off of this is so much fun.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy