Radiohead Amnesiac
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 24th 2019


17454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I Might Be Wrong and Knives Out is one of their best 1-2 punches imo

Digging: Hakushi Hasegawa - Air Ni Ni

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
April 24th 2019


18885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

Agreed Johnny.



You and Whose Army is excellent too

Digging: Lapalux - Amnioverse

claygurnz
April 26th 2019


5436 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is the underrated one in the discog

FadedSun
April 26th 2019


2128 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I always liked this more than Kid A, honestly.

Demon of the Fall
April 26th 2019


13611 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Which means you don't believe the band know how to evaluate their own material? Considering these songs are essentially b-sides. Interesting.

Digging: Howls of Ebb - Cursus Impasse: The Pendlomic Vows

DoofDoof
April 26th 2019


6281 Comments


2.5 album

FadedSun
April 26th 2019


2128 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Which means you don't believe the band know how to evaluate their own material? Considering these songs are essentially b-sides. Interesting."



...uh...what? I'm indifferent to what the band thinks of their own material. I like this more than Kid A. Doesn't matter to me if they're "b-sides" or not. I've liked a lot of b-sides more than songs from official albums by quite a few bands. I'm aware these songs were made during the Kid A sessions, though.

Demon of the Fall
April 26th 2019


13611 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I didn't say it wasn't possible to hold such an opinion, that's your prerogative. It still conflicts with the band's own thoughts, presumably.

J() Alexander
April 26th 2019


7913 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Which means you don't believe the band know how to evaluate their own material?"

Umh, there would be nothing wrong with believing that. It is almost impossible for someone to judge their own work properly.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2019


17523 Comments


Also I mean they released it as a studio album. These are definitely the "left over" songs from the Kid A sessions but, yknow, it seems like they weren't trying to denigrate them

ALTHOUGH if you ask me--I'm probably repeating myself here--these do feel like less adventurous and memorable B sides to Kid A

claygurnz
April 27th 2019


5436 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There's no way they didn't consider Pyramid Song A side material though.

Trifolium
April 27th 2019


11342 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Exactly. And You & Whose Army? is top 20 or so material too. Plus: they didn't release this as a Kid B kind of thing did they? It flows too well to be merely a collection of b-sides. It feels planned out, thought through.

Rik VII
April 27th 2019


4111 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They didn't sort the material by quality but by mood. It isn't a b-sides collection, there's the Amnesiac b-sides for that. That said, although this has a particular atmosphere (much more brooding than Kid A's), I actually don't think it flows that well from song to song.

nolerthebowler
April 27th 2019


4092 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Besides pyramid song and life in a glass house, none of this album is even close to top 20 in my opinion. Knives out and whose army are great, but still are very simple compared to they’re more exceptional work. And some of the experiments on this album just don’t work.

Rik VII
April 27th 2019


4111 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't see why being simple would make Knives Out worse than other songs. It's very tense and makes every note count. Definitely one of my favorites, it just feels a bit out of place on this album since it's the only song that has a prominent acoustic guitar and therefore has a way more organic sound. Great tune though, I love the Smiths-esque playing style.

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2019


17454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"And some of the experiments on this album just don’t work."

Heh, can't disagree here but this is such an album of oddities that the inconsistency has its own charm. Agreed with Rik on Knives Out being tense as anything and awesome as a result

Trifolium
April 27th 2019


11342 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh yeah and I Might Be Wrong. And Glass House. And the opener. And Dollars & Cents. Still a 4.5 for me I guess, haha!

Demon of the Fall
April 27th 2019


13611 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Love Knives Out, Pyramid Song, Dollars & Cents & In a Glasshouse. Best b-side album ever, haha.

Trifolium
April 27th 2019


11342 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yesss Demon. Especially Dollars needs more love. Those drums man, ooh yeah.

DoofDoof
April 27th 2019


6281 Comments


Dollars is good - rest is not so good for the most part

Glasshouse is worst Yorke vocal ever



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy