Job for a Cowboy Sun Eater
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gameofmetal
Emeritus
November 7th 2014


10662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Pop-grind 4 sure

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
November 10th 2014


18880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Most of this band's openers have been great but this album's one two punch is incredible

Digging: Lapalux - Amnioverse

Ocean of Noise
November 20th 2014


10749 Comments


listening to Sun of Nihility right now. impressive instrumental work, though the vocals are still typical deathcore garbage

Digging: Katatonia - Viva Emptiness (10th Anniversary Version)

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
November 20th 2014


10662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

If you don't like low growls and screams then that's fine I guess but these are hardly any different from death metal or another more traditional genre so saying "deathcore garbage" doesn't make a lot of sense to me.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2014


18880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I've always enjoyed his vocals, though I can see how they'd get on people's nerves. That's probably my favorite song on here

betray
November 20th 2014


9392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i can understand not liking davy's vocals but 'typical' and 'deathcore' are two words that probably shouldn't be used to describe them

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2014


18880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I don't think there's a huge distinction between deathcore and death metal vocals, is deathcore just supposed to be a lower register?

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
November 20th 2014


10662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Maybe the fact that it more often utilizes both high and lows but no I don't think there's much distinction.

betray
November 20th 2014


9392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

there isn't a large difference really, I was just saying that davy's vox are far from 'typical deathcore' vocals, far from 'typical' to any genre really.



it's pretty hard to typify DM vox into one 'style' as there are so many different bands which use so many different vox



some are strictly low, some are strictly high, some mix both, etc





TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2014


18880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I like it best when bands like this and Whitechapel mix it up throughout their albums, especially when they incorporate black metal style vocals too.

Ocean of Noise
January 8th 2015


10749 Comments


I just find these vocals really monotonous and don't compliment the dynamics of the music very well, something that I find to be true in the other deathcore I've heard (Contortionist, Born of Osiris, etc)

betray
January 8th 2015


9392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"these vocals really monotonous and don't compliment the dynamics of the music very well"



huh



"something that I find to be true in the other deathcore I've heard (Contortionist, Born of Osiris, etc)"



huh

Nocturnalize
January 8th 2015


2463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Whole lot of crazy in ocean of noises post

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2015


18880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Can't get over how incredible the opening songs are

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
January 8th 2015


10662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"these vocals really monotonous"



idk how but alright



love the opening lick to buried monuments

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
February 17th 2015


18880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This has such an incredible one-two punch opening

cryptside
February 17th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I still love this one. They really found their sound on this album. Sun of Nihility rules.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2015


18880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

It'll be interesting to see where they go from here, I'd be fine with them just taking this sound to another direction

betray
February 18th 2015


9392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

im glad this was successful for them

Nocturnalize
February 19th 2015


2463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I want them to play beatdown next



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy