Logic Under Pressure
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ADV123
October 30th 2014


197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You guys do know that the beat from "Sing About Me, I'm Dying Of Thirst" was a sample of Grant Green's song "Maybe Tomorrow" right? So Logic doesn't need to get "permission from Kendrick" to use it. And I wouldn't say this is a carbon copy of GKMC either. Logic's approach is more based off having strong verses while Kendrick focuses on the overall song. Sure Kendrick lays down verses but they never come at the expense of the song. This was an awesome debut album even if it did reflect its influences a little too much at times. And if a user ever put up a review that said "Fuck *fill in artist*" they would get ripped a new asshole and most likely temporarily banned.

JeetJeet
October 30th 2014


6993 Comments


I'd defend this album if it wasn't so goddamn boring. There's only 4 tracks on it that are good. Everything else is snooze-rap.

Digging: Lucki - Freewave 3

Hopelust
October 30th 2014


3453 Comments


I can't believe how many new users this review has spawned.

betray
October 30th 2014


9393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"you can write a brilliant essay but if you plagiarize even one part of it and turn it in, that's a hard 0. It's the same with this album."



horrible analogy

Hopelust
October 30th 2014


3453 Comments


The guy's just a hard marker. I can empathize with him.

slimdaddy
October 30th 2014


449 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"you can write a brilliant essay but if you plagiarize even one part of it and turn it in, that's a hard 0. It's the same with this album."



However if you cite your sources, you don't.

betray
October 30th 2014


9393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

no lol

Alkemest
October 30th 2014


316 Comments


I should make a new account just to talk shit and leave. Sounds like it's worth my time.

Son of Mr. Pain
October 30th 2014


24853 Comments


A 1 is a reasonable score if the album genuinely offended him. I think 1s should be reserved for albums that cause an irrational hatred as a response to listening to them. Maybe this qualifies.

Cygnatti
October 30th 2014


32877 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I can't believe how many new users this review has spawned.
at least half of them are the same person.



A 1 is a reasonable score if the album genuinely offended him. I think 1s should be reserved for albums that cause an irrational hatred as a response to listening to them. Maybe this qualifies.
I agree.

Digging: Lana Del Rey - Norman Fucking Rockwell

betray
October 30th 2014


9393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

albums that cause an irrational hatred as a response



irrational

GnarlyShillelagh
Emeritus
October 30th 2014


6385 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

MrMatt: sorry, I think you must have posted while I was typing up that long response last night, so I missed your comment.



Except thats not a fair analogy, is it? A fairer analogy would be--in your humble and subjective opinion--that he has taken a source and put it in his (for want of a better phrase) 'own words'. That's not plagiarism at all?




Ahh, there it is - I've almost been waiting for someone to come in with a comment like this. That's a good point, but I'm working off of a slightly broader definition of plagiarism.



Of course, if he copied it verbatim it'd be plagiarism (or a cover, if he got the okay for it), but plagiarism expands beyond simply the copy/paste work. Take for example, a philosophical principle presented by some philosopher (sorry if this example is too extra, unfortunately a philosophical example is the easiest for me to flesh out here). Now there are simple, big ideas in philosophy, like Bentham's idea of utilitarianism (essentially, do things only if they bring happiness to the world), and then there are a lot of more small, specific, complicated ideas that deal with maybe one specific part of the mind/universe/etc - we'll use the example of 'Complex Idea A' by Kant. For the sake of this example, suppose CIA is an idea that those well versed in philosophy - specifically Kant's philosophy may be familiar with, but outside of that circle it might as well be Greek.



Now suppose that I write a paper to be presented to the masses - which consist of a few disciples of Kant/philosophy, but mostly just the general public. In this paper, I use CIA to make my point, or, to make this analogy more relevant to the review, I 'come up with' CIA and explain/justify it in the paper. Now I write out CIA in my own words (Kant is notoriously dense/not the best writer, so since I'm presenting this to the masses perhaps I write it out in less complex terminology, whatever) and present it in a slightly different way than Kant did, but at the core of it all, it's still Kant's CIA, and this is obvious to anyone within the philosophy realm. Nowhere, however, do I reference Kant or credit him with the discovery of CIA. Is this not plagiarism? Although I never directly stole Kant's verbage verbatim, I definitely took his idea and presented it as my own.

GnarlyShillelagh
Emeritus
October 30th 2014


6385 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Now let's scale this analogy down to a classroom setting (to address everyone who takes issue with my

giving this a 1 under the pretense of plagiarism). If I'm in a philosophy class and for my final paper I

write the above paper in the exact same way and turn it in, again with no credit to Kant, I'll certainly

be receiving a 0 for plagiarizing Kant's work.



And, say I write an essay in which CIA is not the focal point of my paper, but it does consume a few pages

(analogous here to the song within the context of the whole album), I'd still be plagiarizing for those

few pages, and although the rest of my paper might be cited correctly/my own work, I'm still catching that

0 for plagiarizing those two pages.



I think this responds to most of your first post as well, but if I missed anything, let me know.



ADV: I'm not 100% certain, but I'm actually pretty sure that Logic sampled Kendrick at least for

Metropolis, if not Under Pressure, not Green. Regardless, and Potsy mentioned it too when he said that

it's possible Logic didn't clear the sample, it's not an ignorant move - Logic surely knew what he was

doing when he pulled that sample, whether it was from Dot or Green.



Hopelust: I think a lot of them are Logic stans who just want to offset the 1/spread the good word of

Logic. It occasionally happens when a mid-high profile artist gets a bad review.



Betray: Expand on 'horrible analogy' please. Also lemme get Demaryius Thomas breh.



Potsy: Take your time breh, I'll respond to your first comment when you get around to the rest of your

response. Sorry mine was so long haha

betray
October 30th 2014


9393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well actually you pretty much got it under control up there^



also no, Demaryius is mine 4ever. I'd consider an interesting trade for T.Y. Hilton though as my QB and RB positions are a solid 'meh' rn

SharkTooth
October 31st 2014


14134 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Hopelust: I think a lot of them are Logic stans who just want to offset the 1/spread the good word of Logic. It occasionally happens when a mid-high profile artist gets a bad review."



didn't that happen on a larger scale with KILL's Periphery review?

ADV123
October 31st 2014


197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gnarly - I'm aware the beat is in "Sing About Me, I'm Dying Of Thirst" but it isn't originally Kendrick's beat either. That's all I'm saying. I like Logic and Kendrick both quiet a bit.

MrMatt767
October 31st 2014


558 Comments


@Gnarly
Again, not sure I find myself agreeing with this analogy. You have to remember that Kantian philosophy (philosophy as a
whole, in fact) is grounded in highly refined, epistemologically/metaphysically unique concepts. To copy a Kantian
principle--take, Kantian deontology for example--one would have to re-articulate this concept almost 'verbatim'.
Philosophy revolves around minor re-adaptation (whether that be critical, revisionary or 'applicatory'). For example, I'm
doing an essay presently on Foucauldian biopower as applicable to the Holocaust. Agamben, in this inquiry, simply takes
Foucault's notion of biopower and applies it to systematised slaughter--something many theorists would argue Foucault
already did. However, that is the essence of philosophy. Regardless of the merits, or quality of the work, no one would
accuse Agamben of plagiarism, far from it in fact. Logic's work, you may contend, is simply a poor piece of philosophy (if
we're still using this analogy) although I'm not even sure if I'd agree with that. Like I said before, leitmotifs within a
musical composition (gang violence, alcohol consumption) are in no way, shape, or form comparable to a highly refined,
individual philosophical theory. Similarly, a musical structure (beats etc.) cannot be accused of plagiarism simply because
they've been used in a similar vein. In fact, if we're still on the topic of philosophy, in defending Logic and your rather
loose, encompassing definition, I'd like to direct you towards the work of numerous structuralist theorists. So,
structuralist intertextuality theory posits that every piece of writing--music too--is produced by the existence of a
'langue' (a pre-existing system). Thus, all texts and sentences--even ideas--ever spoken are made up of the "already
written." Originality within the framework of western creative discourse just isn't as expansive as you'd perhaps like to
think dude. I could point to numerous artists who--thematically, structurally and stylistically sound similar--but that
doesn't mean that the vague motifs adopted by an artist--by the admission of his FANS mind you (because its not as if
Kdot actually has a problem with Logic's album)--are subject to some sort of artistic patent! That's the last thing the
creative world should desire and, as corollary, I seriously urge you to reconsider the abuse you're hurling here. Yes this LP
is unoriginal, yes it has been done (in a vague sense) before, but that doesn't make it plagiarism, and it certainly is not
comparable to philosophical theory. Lastly, is KDot really comparable to Kant in his inaccessibility? Again, seems like a
strange analogy...
PTO

MrMatt767
October 31st 2014


558 Comments


@Gnarly
And, say I write an essay in which CIA is not the focal point of my paper, but it does consume a few pages
(analogous here to the song within the context of the whole album), I'd still be plagiarizing for those
few pages, and although the rest of my paper might be cited correctly/my own work, I'm still catching that
0 for plagiarizing those two pages.

Finally, in response to this, no. Like I said previously taking a Kantian theory would only be plagiarism if you a) failed to--even briefly--mention you were using his theory for said inquiry or b) failed to add anything--of even subjective inconsequentiality--to the piece. Its just foolish to say Logic has added NOTHING at all to the work of his predecessors however--in your opinion--inconsequential it may be.

DANstillTHEMAN
October 31st 2014


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is an awful review, you read an interview where somebody brought up that the album was like GKMC and

saw that the song under pressure was >8min and decided to compare it to sing about me. Not only is this

review turning people off of a good hip hop album in a year that has been horrible for rap, it's an insult

to Kendrick's album by comparing it to something that sounds so little like it.



The only real similarity is that both albums were telling a story or attempting to - but Kendrick was

successful in doing so and Logic wasn't.



It is so ironic that you summarized this album review as "In Defense of The Genre". Under Pressure as an

album has its flaws but Logic can spit, before you read too much into this review

listen to a couple of songs off the album and develop your own opinion.



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ozIdmHtTJMs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k0x6KVyYYbY



ti0n
October 31st 2014


1769 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

wheres fuck logic damnit that was hilarious



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy