The Twilight Sad Nobody Wants To Be Here And Nobody Wants To Leave
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
theBoneyKing
January 17th 2019


16154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is good but the debut is where you want to start.

Digging: Modest Mouse - The Moon & Antarctica

Hellscythe
January 18th 2019


3436 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I decided to go ahead and give their new album a listen since it just dropped on Spotify and holy shit. I'm gonna have to work my way backwards through their discography now. this feels like a band tailor-made for my love of gloomy, dreamy post-punk/gaze jams.

SandwichBubble
January 18th 2019


9424 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

New found appreciation for this one after jamming it right after the new one. This one is way more solid. Maybe my 4.0 for this should make a comeback.

Digging: R. Stevie Moore - Children's Museum

ButtBoy
January 19th 2019


2285 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hmm. loved girl in the corner, easily a 4.5/5 song. but then nothing else on the album lived up to it for me. still solid overall, but I'm hoping the new one does a little more for me. I thinkest the weakest link here is the lyrics. Very little substance. It's all "they/you/I/ *some vague phrase*"

theBoneyKing
January 19th 2019


16154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ Yeah I just said much the same about the lyrics of the new album in one of its threads. Some songs here are decent lyrically but it all feels very cookie cutter “sad breakup/disintegrating relationship” stuff to me though there is an occasional good line here and there. The song titles themselves are much more evocative.

theBoneyKing
January 19th 2019


16154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

FWIW this is one of those albums that I realize objectively isn’t all that great/special but I somehow enjoy it more than I should given all the criticisms I have about it.

ButtBoy
January 19th 2019


2285 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah, i mean overall it has a nice quality and atmosphere to it. not a ton of substance, but I totally get the appeal. the first three songs really hit the nail on the head, after that it loses me a little.

theBoneyKing
January 19th 2019


16154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The first two and “In Nowheres” and the title track are definitely a cut above the rest for me. The album does have a very nice flow though, I’ll give it that.

Slex
January 19th 2019


6248 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Never Was The Same is the best here

Digging: Shin Guard - 2020

ButtBoy
January 19th 2019


2285 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ha sorry man, probably one of my least favorite on the album. In Nowheres was good though!

theBoneyKing
March 3rd 2019


16154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Despite my earlier complaints I think this has become my second favorite Sad album, the emotional arc is so great.

Slex
March 3rd 2019


6248 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

In my top 10 of the decade, I'll die on this hill



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy