The World Is a Beautiful Place... Between Bodies
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
September 30th 2014


6676 Comments


"they are addressing how to successfully integrate poetry with music"
sorry, I didn't word my thoughts properly. I meant to say "You're basically arguing whether or not this album successfully merges poetry with music" - should've said that, my bad

anyway, good review. just trying to offer a couple points to think about, and obviously you don't have to agree with all of them. I just think you've written better, that's all

puertasmagicas
September 30th 2014


61 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks, truly. Your points definitely helped me see the weak points in this writing, and it is true that this is by far my most instantly-composed review, if that makes sense. I even made the slight change of adding the line "which unlike 99% of emo, isn't merely teenage melancholy, but existential melancholy and the quest for embracing the whole of life a la Nietzsche" in there to clarify that what I think makes them more powerful than other emo bands is they aren't just trying to evoke their personal emotion but actually have a more-or-less tangible ideology (the ending part of Getting Sodas feels almost like a mission statement) that plays rather nicely against their moody music.



Anyway, see you around : )

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
September 30th 2014


56228 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

a review already what the fuck now I have to work double time to review this

YakNips
September 30th 2014


19392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

pretty much every track is perfect except for if and when i die

bach
September 30th 2014


16023 Comments


my friend is p into this

Digging: Funeral Mist - Hekatomb

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
September 30th 2014


56228 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

if and when i die is the only one i like



This is just Listener but shitty and spacey for no reason

YakNips
September 30th 2014


19392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

smdh

HenchmanOfSanta
September 30th 2014


1994 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Unapologizingly" is not a word. Try "unapologetically."

minty901
September 30th 2014


3671 Comments


from what ive read this sounds like its more pretentious than lulu. gonna listen now.

minty901
September 30th 2014


3671 Comments


shit this reminds me of if i were a frog by in the wake of giants. loved that track: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=apPO10Nbb8Y

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
September 30th 2014


56228 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Most disappointing release since.....well Empire! Empire!

minty901
September 30th 2014


3671 Comments


this is so bad it makes me cringe. is this one of those albums thats ahead of its time, and ill eventually eat my words when we all start worshiping it in 20 years time?

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
September 30th 2014


56228 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

nah it's just another failed experiment in collaboration



YakNips
September 30th 2014


19392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

about the reaction i expected yea

minty901
September 30th 2014


3671 Comments


they said on facebook people would probs hate it. maybe they realised that the spoken word dude was churning out shit but didnt have the heart to not follow through with the project. maybe creating good poetry takes too much time and he felt rushed by the band wanting to put something out.

YakNips
September 30th 2014


19392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

or maybe they knew that people wouldn't like it because it's different

aircycle
September 30th 2014


1103 Comments


i cannot stand this guy

YakNips
September 30th 2014


19392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

lmao just realized the guy in your avi is george

YakNips
September 30th 2014


19392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yes

YakNips
September 30th 2014


19392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

http://i.imgur.com/ClQGmeR.jpg



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy