Obscure Sphinx Void Mother
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Demon of the Fall
April 8th 2019


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The vox here don’t detract from the heaviness, in Mariner I think they do. It’s a more vocally orientated record anyway & that’s fine, just took me a while to get used to as a CoL fan.

Digging: Amon Tobin - Adventures In Foam

PistolPete
April 8th 2019


5134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Julie's vocals are quite polarizing though to be fair. I've seen many on here who thoroughly love them and people like me who consider "Battle of Mice" virtually unlistenable because of her vocals lol. I thought it merged with CoL pretty well on Mariner in the end but it did take a few listens to adjust.

Digging: Mountaineer - Bloodletting

Demon of the Fall
April 9th 2019


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Presence of Goddess is awesome, what an epic way to close the album.

Hawks
April 9th 2019


73730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

About to jam this again. Slayz so ahrd.

Artuma
June 13th 2019


31579 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Her vocals (both cleans and harsh) are far and away better than Julie Christmas’. Do not be sorry"



agree. julie rocks on mariner but her battle of mice performances are so weak



zofia sounds like your everyday feminist hardcore vocalist but she does it so well

Thalassic
February 26th 2020


4798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is bloody brilliant

Gonna bump this a notch

parksungjoon
February 26th 2020


19348 Comments


"but her battle of mice performances are so weak"

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????


this rules tho not gonna contest that

Digging: Nuclear Death - Bride of Insect

80timesthe80
May 2nd 2020


134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Goddamn some moments on this are genuinely haunting. That Void + Presence of Goddess is absolutely great.

OmairSh
May 2nd 2020


15797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Amen dude. Nice bump, hadn't jammed in ages

Digging: Fates Warning - A Pleasant Shade of Gray

PistolPete
May 2nd 2020


5134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

These guys should be closing in on finishing a new album soon but may have got delayed with everything going on.

OmairSh
May 2nd 2020


15797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I see Thaumaturgy on Spotify, is that the new album?



Decimation has such a sexy riff, and Waiting for the Bodies has a sexy bassline. What I love about these guys is that the two guitarists don't just double each other or harmonize like generic metal bands. They play separate things quite often. If one is playing the riff, the other might play a simple chord to paint a simple sonic landscape. That's the whole point of having two guitarists isn't it?



Band is super Tight, though I think the vocalist is the weak link for me. Her singing is fine, her screams can be a bit too screamo at times

80timesthe80
May 2nd 2020


134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thats a weird opinion. For most wielebna is the selling point. The screamo connection is definitely there though since a lot of post metal bands originate from the hardcore scene and the vocals reflect that in a way. Its kinda become the post metal style.

OmairSh
May 2nd 2020


15797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I find myself in the minority with a few of my music opinions heh. I think the musicians are really talented and mesh very well together. They play interesting parts that complement each other, but my rating would probably be higher with a different vocalist or even if it was just instrumental



She's not bad, just not my cup of tea tbh. I would have preferred it if she sang more. I much prefer her eerie vocals



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy