Stone Temple Pilots Purple
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
evilford
December 18th 2018


42078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Core edges this out for me but big empty might be my fav stp

Larkinhill
December 18th 2018


1512 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah Big Empty is def up there.



Core is actually my third out of three. I know that’s unusual. Most of the songs are just so, so played out for me. When this album came out, those songs were played constantly on the radio, especially Plush. As good as that album is, I have a hard time even listening to it these days. Except for Dead and Bloated, of course. Never get tired of that song.

evilford
December 18th 2018


42078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah. The benefit I had of that situation is that I just never listened to the radio lol. I can see core being beyond played out for like 50% of its songs and that's sad cuz they're just so fucking good but burnout is real

WatchItExplode
December 18th 2018


6426 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is my favorite STP and one of my faves from the 90s period.

Kalopsia
December 19th 2018


3117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this and Core are about even for me.. kinda depends on my mood which i consider better than the other.

wham49
December 19th 2018


4528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this and core are at the same level in my opinion, never thought it was played out,

Digging: Grateful Dead - Cornell 5/8/77

ArsMoriendi
December 19th 2018


25344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is better than Core in my opinion

Digging: Depeche Mode - Black Celebration

CumChriSt
December 19th 2018


2 Comments


idk why but i confuse these guys for crownhate ruin a lot
don't even like either band but it's w/e

claygurnz
February 10th 2019


5199 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still Remains still so good

Log S.
February 10th 2019


2628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So how/when did this even come to be called "Purple" ? It says it nowhere on the physical album itself, anywhere I've seen it for sale simply has it tagged as "Stone Temple Pilots," & it ain't even purple!

Something I've been wondering for a while now - but yeah I like this way more than Core, feels like they came into their own quite a bit more from here on out

Kalopsia
February 11th 2019


3117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i think i remember some interview weiland did where they asked him about the name 'Purple' and he just said it was because it was his favorite colour and cuz it's the colour of bruises.



lol who knows tho

Log S.
February 11th 2019


2628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah but like

isn't it crazy that it's supposedly the name of the record but it's nowhere on the record ?

Log S.
February 11th 2019


2628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

not just the album cover (unless that japanese character means exactly that) but the liner notes, album label itself, side of the packaging, nowhere. it's fuckin' nuts, i don't know if i've ever seen another record where the title was nowhere to be found

my first guess is that this was clearly meant to be a self-titled but then last minute (like, after the shit was already printed, sent out, etc) they decided it was in fact going to be called "Purple"

WatchItExplode
February 11th 2019


6426 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Everything was half hazard with Scott weiland but this is a fucken amazing album

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2019


15043 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Still Remains still so good [2]

Digging: Elizabeth Colour Wheel - Nocebo

StrikeOfTheBeast
February 11th 2019


5563 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Best STP

Digging: Behemoth - Demigod



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy