La Dispute Rooms of the House
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2019


9157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The lack of almost any memorable guitar parts doesn't help.

Digging: Bonny Light Horseman - Bonny Light Horseman

auberginedreams
March 3rd 2019


6361 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like the verse riff in view from our bedroom window. And the jazzy guitar in rhodonite. And the breakdown-ish thing towards the end of anxiety panorama. I agree for the most part though. I would give the new album a 4 though because the vocals are what sets this band apart and they sound better than here, just too quiet. I do miss the days of Somewhere and even Vancouver and Wildlife with very memorable guitar parts though.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2019


9157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I do love the riff in View, and Rhodonite And Grief is far and away the standout imo.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2019


17415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Is it just me or does the new one have some of Jordan's weakest lyrical work?"

do you people always just ignore the woman duology when you listen to this?

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2019


9157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Are you saying the Woman songs are lyrically weak? I don't follow

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2019


17415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I thought you were talking about this album i apologize

But Fulton Street is fantastically lyrically and musically, imo might be their best track

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2019


9157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fulton Street is indeed very strong lyrically, but other tracks are noticeably bad imo (In Northern Michigan puts Jordan front and center and he does not deliver)



This is their best album lyrically for me

auberginedreams
March 3rd 2019


6361 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Why does Jordan reference a cell phone in the second track if it’s supposed to take place in like the 50s or 60s, that always bugged me.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2019


17415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"This is their best album lyrically for me"

that's a good opinion right there

LARGEMINT
March 3rd 2019


81 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

literally any single song on wildlife lyrically obliterates this

auberginedreams
March 4th 2019


6361 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

True.

GreyShadow
March 4th 2019


3616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ugh, I can't stay away.



This is gonna grow hard. Anxiety Panorama is a jam and the riffs towards the end are dope.



I also kinda love In Northern Michigan

butt.
March 4th 2019


6210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

As a michigander who loves northern Michigan more than anything, I'm really hoping I love the song Northern Michigan lol. Trying to wait till official release

Jamdbz
March 4th 2019


515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

New one grew on me hard. Will probably eclipse this one I reckon

auberginedreams
March 5th 2019


6361 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I’ve been listening to the new one a bunch and I already like it much more than this one but definitely not as much as Somewhere or Wildlife. I like the post-rock vibe and Jordan’s harsh vocals are more passionate and aggressive than on here which is a relief personally. The spoken word was better on their first few releases imo. I mean yeah he was clearly still going through puberty at the time so you can go ahead and call it whiny or cringey or whatever but I respected the no fucks given emotional breakdowns then and some of the spoken parts on the newer stuff just sound like he’s reading out loud from a book totally lifelessly. In Northern Michigan is okay though when he gets going. What this album needed though was a banger like Said the King to the River or New Storms for Older Lovers or even Edit Your Hometown and an epic like TLLC or King Park. I miss the more memorable instrumentation. I mean go back and listen to StKttR, the way that songs ebbs and flows with its tension and restrain and build up and explosion at the end is unbelievable for how young they were at the time, and View From Your Bedroom window is probably the one of the only songs on Panorama that shows that level of songwriting genius imo. Somewhere and Wildlife did have one too many blues rock riffs I will admit and yet somehow they worked. I honestly can’t stand blues or southern rock at all but I still loved songs like Damaged Goods or Harder Harmonies or Bury Your Flame. I guess what I’m saying is while I do like the post rock stuff on the new album I wish there was more instrumental variety.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2019


9157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think Rhodonite and Grief is truly genius, has become a top 5 LD song for me

auberginedreams
March 5th 2019


6361 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah that is another highlight in terms of songwriting. It’s not really what I’m into genre-wise but I enjoy it despite that. I really didn’t like the first woman song on here and rhodonite seems like a better version of that.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2019


9157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

....Woman In Mirror is my favorite song from the band : (

auberginedreams
March 5th 2019


6361 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And while I wanted it to be the next TLLC or King Park, You Ascendent ended up being more like an infinitely superior Objects in Space which is far and away my least favorite LD song even counting their EPS and stuff.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2019


9157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well Hear, Here 3 is their best release, so



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy