Broken Bells After The Disco
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
hogan900
February 5th 2014


2917 Comments


Incredible review, may want to actually check this out now.

TheBarber
February 5th 2014


3758 Comments


Great review dude, gonna try this out (beautiful artwork too)

Gyromania
February 5th 2014


26614 Comments


i wish staff would just round up though. 3.9? that's a 4. .1 system is meticulous and unrealistic. i can't assign ratings down to a .1 decimal.

TheBarber
February 5th 2014


3758 Comments


agreed

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2014


4504 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

The reason that I gave it a 3.9 was because a full 4/5 is equivalent to an 80/100, and I felt like the album was just a little under that, so I decided to go with a 3.9 which would be a 78/100. Although I suppose that makes me sound kind of obsessive with ratings haha. But to be fair, when you have the ability to rate things with .1 increments, why not make use of it? Why not have fun with that gift?

Gyromania
February 5th 2014


26614 Comments


idk it seems too meticulous like i said but i'm not going to hate on you for it lol. just a pet peeve. and change the summary like i said! lol

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2014


4504 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

@Matt

Oh, no I understand. And you do have a point, I just thought I'd explain my reason behind it (although it makes me sound obsessive lol).



Believe it or not, I was originally planning to just copy Sobhi's summary and add a [2] in the end if I ended up loving the album as much as their debut. It would have made me look ridiculous though.

Gyromania
February 5th 2014


26614 Comments


lol s'all good, we all have our obsessions ;D

and you should totally put that! i'd pos. well, i can't because the pos/neg system doesn't apply to staff, but point is you know i'd pos if it did exist, so

chaseguitar
February 5th 2014


757 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

their first album was so good; this isn't even close to it, sadly.

tmagistrelli
February 5th 2014


800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is good.

DarthMarshall
February 5th 2014


22 Comments


Two large paragraphs makes it a bit visually imposing. My only suggestion would be to break it up into
a few smaller ones.

Aside from that, I like the writing style. Good review.

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 6th 2014


29920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I liked the .1 increments at first but once I realized their futility I kind of just went back to the old way of rating



But to each his own

Digging: La Dispute - Panorama

cryptside
February 6th 2014


2397 Comments


Excellent review, I'm excited to hear this.

indigonowhere
Emeritus
February 6th 2014


10727 Comments


It seems a bit silly to complain about the 3.9 rating, c'mon Matt

cryptside
February 6th 2014


2397 Comments


I like that the staff can give more nuanced ratings; it allows for more accuracy in my opinion.

aok
February 6th 2014


4500 Comments


wait this came out already??

RadicalEd
February 6th 2014


9448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album is very good but not amazing. Agree with the review. Strong 3.5 for me.

Digging: Maurice Louca - Elephantine

rabidfish
February 6th 2014


4907 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great album, songs 5 to 9 are kind of bland, but the rest are pretty solid and enjoyable... there's no "high road" level of memorability, but still...

Digging: Junior Byles - Beat Down Babylon

ncguitar
February 6th 2014


2610 Comments


Panic! After the Disco

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 8th 2014


29920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If anyone wants to listen to an album way better than this listen to the new Snowmine.



Snowmine is like what Broken Bells always should have been but better.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy