Foxing The Albatross
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2017


19728 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bit by a dead bee pt 1/2 are gorgeous...and Den Mother should be the closer imo. such a powerful song

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2017


5447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I kinda agree with that bit on Den Mother, but I really love Quietus so I don't mind too much

I prefer Pt. II to Pt. I. The slightly calmer feel sits well with me.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2017


19728 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm big on pt. 1 because of the cool lil breakdown they do. the guitar tones are crazy good on it as well

BlushfulHippocrene
July 17th 2017


2019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Den Mother's climax is chilling. "If nothing becomes / At least soft light lay on us" is such a fascinating line, and it resolves the speaker's bitterness well. I like, however, that The Albatross' tension is resolved (or at least dissipated) through an acceptance of the resulting and irreparable destruction -- the final line and those trumpets are tense, but also kinda relieving. His last scream is like a gunshot.

One thing is I think Calm Before is so long that it and Quietus feel too much like afterthoughts, almost like a postscript, whereas the rest of the album flows quite well.

Digging: Julien Baker - Turn Out The Lights

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2017


19728 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

agreed blush. this might be a 5 if the last two songs were better tbh

BlushfulHippocrene
July 21st 2017


2019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Had to bump the score, I love this, the lyrics are incredible.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 21st 2017


19728 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

good bump (:

BlushfulHippocrene
July 21st 2017


2019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I just enthral and disappoint." Oh man, Pt. II is unbelievable. In that second part, where he switches to the "young soul..." Incredible.

kingdedethefifth
August 5th 2017


4295 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Inuit is absolutely the sex right now.

BlushfulHippocrene
August 5th 2017


2019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"And I'm not waving, I'm drowning... / I felt your weight crushing contours"

One of the best moments on the whole album, Inuit is amazing. I remember first hearing it and being floored.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 5th 2017


19728 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yesssss love that line too much

magicuba
October 4th 2017


1241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cute album

Digging: The Body and Full Of Hell - Ascending a Mountain of Heavy Light

ZombieToyDuck
October 25th 2017


2145 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

now if you want me to slow dowwwwwn

JUST TELL ME TO SLOW DOWN

dbizzles
October 25th 2017


10405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice bump. Perfect sadboi album.

Digging: Summoning - Oath Bound

ZombieToyDuck
October 25th 2017


2145 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

finally giving the whole thing a go but I love that song so I have high expectations

ZombieToyDuck
October 25th 2017


2145 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ooo didn't know these dudes do screams, bit by a dead bee pt 1 was a sweet surprise



edit: settling on a 4 for now

dbizzles
October 25th 2017


10405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

NICE

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2017


19728 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hell yea deadly, good score

GreyShadow
November 14th 2017


1845 Comments


Bit By Dead Bee Pt 1 reminds me of Downtown Battle Mountain and that's a comparison I would never expect to make outside of post-hardcore.

I listen to the first half of this a lot but the latter half is great too. I am finally seeing these guys in less than a month and I'm so damn excited

dbizzles
November 14th 2017


10405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh, man. They are solid live. One of the more notable performances I've been to over the last few years. Are they headlining or opening? Small or large venue?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy