Pink Floyd The Division Bell
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mongi123
October 12th 2013


20898 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yea I'm really socially anxious(though I'm getting loads better) and drinking helps at parties for me to meet new people.



And smoking I literally make myself laugh at the stupid thoughts I think of. The conversations are funny too. But at the same time we don't need it to have fun, it's just fun to do.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2013


43923 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

ah yeah I get that I can be awkward as fuck too but if I'm around people I'm already friends with it's all good



chuck knows I mean I already worship Floyd and I don't do drugs I can't imagine how I'd feel about them if I was on drugs lol

Digging: Mike Shinoda - Dropped Frames, Vol. 1

guitarded_chuck
October 12th 2013


18061 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i don't think a lot of people actually need it tho rather it just makes whatever you are doing more lol and entertaining



i actually like it more the older i get and drinking less, easier on the mind and body

guitarded_chuck
October 12th 2013


18061 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

rowanbro don't get me wrong pf is marvelous no matter who you are that's why they're the best

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2013


43923 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Yeah of course they are lol but people always talk about how good they sound when you're high

I still would probably never smoke though, not if I can help it

Ecnalzen
October 12th 2013


8837 Comments


I used to have horrible social anxiety, mongi. It sucked. I still have it a little bit, but I can usually talk myself into stuff way easier than when I was a yougun.

guitarded_chuck
October 12th 2013


18061 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeh if you don't too bro don't its all good



and it's not really that it sounds better it's that people are more open to relaxing and listening to music and end up discovering chill music like floyd that they might not have given a chance already

Mongi123
October 12th 2013


20898 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ecnal, it sucks man. I think about shit too much and walking up to a pretty girl at a party I don't know is really hard for some reason and I know it shouldn't be. It's nothing people who are confident in themselves can understand.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2013


43923 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Ah yeah that's fair enough I try to keep as much of an open mind as I can already I'll pretty much listen to anything people think I'll like so it's cool

did you like the review by the way?

guitarded_chuck
October 12th 2013


18061 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

love the review man you really get it and a lot of people don't give it a chance and therefore never get it / under-appreciate it



"But what it does have is a tangible atmosphere of bittersweet nostalgia that seems to sum up the band's career and lives to a T."



100%



i do really like this album and you know what i'll bump this to a 4, i'll just always be v v v bitter as to how greed took down the greatest band of all-time in their prime and left us with all this stuff after. which is v v v good music, but man music history could have used another few albums from floyd working as a group.



it's just ironic to me that this is a band that more than most seems to be so in-tune with human interaction and societal flaws yet they let greed creep slowly and build up walls between them (yes "pun" intended).



you read about how roger just showed up with the wall pretty much already written. well, that would not have happened had they not been rich and starting families and becoming distant, because they would have kept up their bonds and aligned their creative minds to create more group-efforts.



sorry i should have capitalized and such this rant, i didn't plan on writing so much XP

guitarded_chuck
October 12th 2013


18061 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

PS - Considering and accepting what happened with the band, I actually think High Hopes is a wonderful closer to the PF catalog and is Gilmour at his most honest.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2013


43923 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Thanks I really appreciate it and yeah man bump that shit. I totally get what you mean like all their albums are good but if Rick hadn't stopped singing and Roger hadn't started thinking of himself as the sole writer then we coulda easily got more classics out of them. It does piss me off that Gilmour essentially stopped writing music before AMLOR because he helped pen some of their greatest tunes but for me it's even worse that Wright stopped singing altogether because man he had such a beautiful voice on Obscured and DSOTM and he was definitely at his peak and just stopped, and when he started singing again like on Wearing the Inside Out his voice just wasn't the same.



Like seriously can you imagine Rick singing Shine On instead of Roger like how fucking good would that have been

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2013


43923 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Yeah agreed 100% High Hopes is the perfect summation of their career and the lyrical reference to See Emily Play just makes the whole thing like come round full circle it's so so good

guitarded_chuck
October 12th 2013


18061 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah man



Rick also had a great mind for composition and that atmospheric sound. Roger always kept bringing the general concepts to the table and most of the lyrics. But then when it came to putting the music together it was Rick and Dave that brought the unique epic sound. Me being a guitarist, I "listen" to the "sound" more than the lyrics + themes (though they go hand-in-hand of course), so once the boys starting getting pushed aside I get turned off big time.

guitarded_chuck
October 12th 2013


18061 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

do you like syd-era floyd much? like would you jam and enjoy see emily play, apples and oranges, all that shit regularly or no?



(speaking of not-peak-floyd)

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2013


43923 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

I can appreciate Rick and Dave's technical skill of course but me personally I'm a lyrics and vocals guy so I appreciate them a little more for their vocals, I mean seriously Dave is my favourite singer ever

Yeah man I love all Floyd and the early stuff was just as great, all the singles + Piper + Saucerful I jam regularly

guitarded_chuck
October 12th 2013


18061 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

makes sense man



yeah i love syd man he was such a badass. brilliant provocative 60's pop songs / acid rock songs.



i've been thinking about starting to write reviews again and i think piper would be a cool one for me to start with, you inspiring me with this review a bit :D

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2013


43923 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Syd was brilliant and his story is one of the saddest there is. I also really enjoy his solo stuff (Madcap Laughs especially), in fact I dig all their solo stuff except Nick's which I haven't heard



haha I'm flattered man I'll pos hard if you do

guitarded_chuck
October 12th 2013


18061 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's so extremely sad that it actually disturbs me to the core. really made me appreciate and understand mental illness as one of the great tragedies of the human species (and drug abuse too to an extent).



i honestly haven't bothered listening to any solo work besides syd's. any recs (give me a reason why too =) )



yeah i'll do it. only reason i've never started again is because i'm an extreme perfectionist when it comes to writing. it's one of my strengths (i have a few papers published in peer-reviewed scientific jorunals) but it takes me awhile.



another night, basically.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2013


43923 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Yeah man complete tragedy and of the saddest stories I know, and as many people have said before the saddest part is that Floyd would never have achieved greatness if they hadn't kicked him out, it sucks



If you want more insanely good lyrics and crazy concepts a la the Wall and the Final Cut go for Amused to Death by Waters, I actually prefer it to both the Floyd albums because it's so ridiculously well executed and has his best lyrics imo. If you want some dark and creepy atmospherics go for Broken China by Rick, a concept album about his wife's depression so there's some pretty dark shit in there. On the other hand, if you just wanna chill the fuck out go for On an Island by Gilmour.



I don't know if I've ever come across any of your reviews before but if you're a perfectionist then they must be pretty damn good, let me know if you decide to do it/when you finish it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2020 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy