Darkside Psychic
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
clercqie
October 11th 2013


6522 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Very very nice review.



Album is terrific, and the live show was pretty great as well.

Wadlez
October 11th 2013


4913 Comments


First track was all I got around to so far.. Sounded promising

clercqie
October 11th 2013


6522 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jaar core continues to be overhyped


hahaha



BigSimo
October 11th 2013


190 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

likely will end up my AOTY. like nothing i've head before.

RadicalEd
October 11th 2013


8745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

shit music for 16 year olds with an inferiority complex. Go listen to some BangerZ you dweebs.

Digging: Onra - Nobody Has To Know

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2013


32190 Comments


like nothing i've head before.


Everything this guy does apes pretty much all idm from the '90s. And on this album he rips on Villalobos. It's not entirely a negative, but I'll never understand why anyone thinks this guy is doing anything overly unique

RadicalEd
October 11th 2013


8745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Everything this guy does apes pretty much all idm from the '90s. And on this album he rips on Villalobos. It's not entirely a negative, but I'll never understand why anyone thinks this guy is doing anything overly unique"



because there is like 10 guys in the whole world who have an idm/electronica library that is comparable to yours? Just a thought.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2013


32190 Comments


No, I'm sure more than 10 people have heard more than one album from that period. Just a thought

RadicalEd
October 11th 2013


8745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"No, I'm sure more than 10 people have heard more than one album from that period. Just a thought"



On sputnik? Maaayyybe. Villalobos does not even have an entry on sput.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2013


32190 Comments


http://www.sputnikmusic.com/bands/Ricardo-Villalobos/10116/

RadicalEd
October 11th 2013


8745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm just sayin. Electronica in the 90s is mystery land to most people (me included) because electronic

music only really took off in the last 10 years or so (not from a quality standpoint, just talking

about popularity)



Edit: Ah my bad. Didn't try it with first name. Not that many ratings though.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2013


32190 Comments


This is just one site though, and just because there aren't an absurd number of ratings doesn't mean people haven't heard his stuff. Try his Discogs page, or the entries for him on RYM

"because electronic music only really took off in the last 10 years or so (not from a quality standpoint, just talking about popularity)"

No, not at all. More mainstream-leaning dance music became quite popular in the last 10 years -- the tinny tech-house and breaks of Gatecrasher all the way up to the edm of today, but electronic music has always had a sizeable audience, from the underground idm community to the stadium-sized rave fests of your Orbitals and your Underworlds, not to mention commercial successes from The Prodigy, The Chemical Brothers etc

RadicalEd
October 11th 2013


8745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^^



Well maybe you're right, which means I don't get it either. Because I happen to own one villalobos album and it's quite similar indeed.



I still like this, although I was not into Jaars LP.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2013


32190 Comments


Well like I said, I don't see what he does in a negative way. I like his stuff, but I'm by no means in love with it. I just find it odd when people think he's carving out his own little thing. A lot of the stuff on his debut was kinda run of the mill downtempo, stuff that wouldn't sound out of place on one of those old Cafe Del Mar comps coffee stores used to play when electronic music hit the windfall

BigSimo
October 11th 2013


190 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you're right i have pretty much zero experience with 90s electronica. but is any of it super catchy and funky like this with those daft punk guitars and that absorbing atmosphere and that incredible production?

(if there is stuff resembling this, please point me in its direction. thanks)

clercqie
October 11th 2013


6522 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just find it odd when people think he's carving out his own little thing.


I do think you really know it's a Nico Jaar track when you hear one. He's got that characteristic atmosphere he's sprinkling over his tracks.



At the end of the day, though, he just makes some really great tunes, regardless of originality or uniqueness.

BigTuna
October 11th 2013


5223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I had never actually heard of Jaar until this release, but I think what Dev is getting at is that if we base the merit of this album on Jaar's originality or uniqueness, that's not altogether a good idea. We can't necessarily say he's doing something new or mind-blowing, but that doesn't mean it's not good. Or, in this case, excellent ;)

Digging: Soundtrack (Film) - Black Panther

BigTuna
October 11th 2013


5223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

basically what clercqie said

kingsoby1
Emeritus
October 11th 2013


4970 Comments


jaar continues to be overhyped are you kidding dev? dudes a f*cking genius

have you heard any of his mixes

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2013


2905 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Take me there, Angelo



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy