Gorguts Colored Sands
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
evilford
August 3rd 2014


40611 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sweet dig six

Wizard
August 3rd 2014


20124 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Their earlier stuff had an unmistakable stamp on it. I feel like this album could have been released by anyone who took a music theory class.



Spot on.

Anthracks
August 3rd 2014


6051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is probably their weakest album, but I definitely disagree with that notion.

Digging: Alvvays - Antisocialites

Hawks
August 3rd 2014


51902 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Wiz a 2 wtf? :[

Digging: Swallow the Sun - The Morning Never Came

BigPleb
August 3rd 2014


51424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bit late to the party, Hawks.

Hawks
August 3rd 2014


51902 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah probably, haven't been on all day and haven't read the previous pages.

evilford
August 3rd 2014


40611 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Their earlier stuff had an unmistakable stamp on it. I feel like this album could have been released by anyone who took a music theory class."



lol





u r silly

emester
August 3rd 2014


8181 Comments


Love the whole Tibetan theme of the album both atmospherically and lyrically

Hawks
August 3rd 2014


51902 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I just love everything about it idk.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2014


21997 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I think YOU DO KNOW

evilford
August 3rd 2014


40611 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"I could have released this"





lol

emester
August 3rd 2014


8181 Comments


I was listening to an interview with Lemay and essentially what he said was that the tracks before Chamdo discussed Tibetan culture and the tracks after dealt with the struggles the country and its people went through during its occupation by the Chinese. Lemay really knows his shit

evilford
August 3rd 2014


40611 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

shit is music theory 101 bro

MO
August 3rd 2014


22002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

lmfao yea sure, ANYONE could've released this album. It's funny the criticisms people have about this release, no dm band sounds remotely like gorguts so claiming anyone could just magically whip this up is you basically grasping at straws trying really hard for something negative to say about it. give me a break

BigPleb
August 3rd 2014


51424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

MO knows.

beefshoes
August 3rd 2014


6886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Because learning how to read basic sheet music automatically means that you're qualified to write an epic technical death metal record that no one but Gorguts could make. Fuck yeah m/



Digging: Ne Obliviscaris - Urn

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2014


21997 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is just so boring, and completely lost the X factor that made Gorguts, Gorguts. The songs don't do anything, they are just

strings of technical riffs tied together. Sure they "experiment" and throw in a long, classical interlude (because that's NEVER

been done before) but that doesn't save it from sounding like an amalgam of every modem tech death band. You're right,

nobody sounds like Gorguts.... But this album isn't Gorguts.

beefshoes
August 3rd 2014


6886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I just don't get the 2.5 or lower scores for this, even on a somewhat objective basis. It's not like there are that many of them or

anything and it's not like I don't respect others' opinions, but to me it sounds like a more concise take on the usual sound.

Even then, I don't see how that's a major disqualifier. If anything, it's probably a decent gateway album at the least where it

isn't as off the wall.

MO
August 3rd 2014


22002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@spirit - and there's a proper criticism, good on you dude...though I don't see this as an amalgam of today's tech scene since I see

this as being way more original than 99% of the stuff out there. to me the songs don't feel slapped together but all progress really

well. Take enemies of compassion for example, it flows perfectly and the section in the middle where it slows down brings

everything together so damnit well. opinions are opinions but this sounds very fresh in a very stale metal genre

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2014


21997 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Also tons of metal musicians have taken music theory classes, not sure why everyone thinks that's some crazy idea



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy