Karnivool Asymmetry
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2013


39417 Comments


Of course I've heard them haha Karnivool were my favourite band before I joined Sputnik and I must've heard the first two albums 100 times. Personally I find the only lyrics of his I really like are in Change Part 1, my favourite Vool song.

Digging: The Used - The Canyon

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2013


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If I'm gonna listen to Change I'll just listen to part two haha You don't like Illumine, Deadman, or New Day lyrically? I love them. Granted they're not "stunning" lyrics but they're pretty great imo

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2013


39417 Comments


Both have some great lines mixed in but I don't find any parts of them emotional as such. Kenny always sounded kinda detached to me even though he's a great singer, he was never one to put a whole lot of meaning into his lyrics and vocals. So in that sense this album isn't too far behind imo.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2013


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Aside from sky Machine this album just doesn't do it for me. I love his performances on SA and Themata. It's oddly fitting considering how heavy the music is. Agree to disagree in the meaning in his lyrics part bwahaha

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2013


39417 Comments


Fair enough. Themata still remains my favourite by them regardless, and I'm still baffled at how people think SA is _THAT_ good.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2013


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

SA is epic, more meaningful, has better musicanship, better vocals. Just everything is loads better about it imo. Such a amazing follow up and New Day is so fuckin passionate. Themata is more accessible though so I can see why people like that one more.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2013


39417 Comments


I've been listening to both for ages so I doubt that it's accessibility that tips the scale. I just find Themata had better groove, was tighter rhythmically and was more consistent than SA.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2013


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Their drumming has always been amazing. Love the unconventional rhythm to Fear Of The Sky. I prefer rhythms like Simple Boy though. Song is fuckin intense. And yea that's just on of the reasons people could like that record more. There's plenty of other reasons too.

Drummerboy123
August 31st 2013


3009 Comments


SA drumming towers over Themata. Steve Judd is godly.

Digging: Julien Baker - Turn Out The Lights

Jade
Emeritus
August 31st 2013


10698 Comments


"Idk there just isn't as much emotion to his voice on this one. Except on Sky Machine."

You pretend Float isn't a thing here

Underflow
August 31st 2013


3833 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"It stings, it hurts" is a thing, too.

Jade
Emeritus
August 31st 2013


10698 Comments


so many things up in this bitch

Underflow
August 31st 2013


3833 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I prefer the things on Sound Awake.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2013


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like Float too lol it's just Sky Machine stands high above anything on here imo and it's the only song I actually listen to from this anymore.

percyforward
September 2nd 2013


70 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the singing on amusia is passionate

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
September 2nd 2013


39417 Comments


boom

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 2nd 2013


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Have I been burned?

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
September 2nd 2013


39417 Comments


You have lol, may as well retreat now to prevent further injury.
After all, every Karnivool fan knows that the vocals on Omitted For Clarity >

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 2nd 2013


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Idk this is not a terrible record just nothing I'd listen to again. And yes omitted for clarity has STUNNING vocals :D

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
September 2nd 2013


39417 Comments


Yeah I agree I haven't felt the urge to listen to this in ages, and most of the songs I've only listened to once or twice. Sky Machine, Float, Aeons and Eidolon are still the shit though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy