Porcupine Tree In Absentia
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Source
October 30th 2019


18491 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

all about stupid dream

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
January 5th 2020


6577 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is my first porcupine tree, loved it. What next?

DaveT0738
January 5th 2020


835 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listen to Fear Of A Blank Planet, highly recommended

CugnoBrasso
January 5th 2020


1062 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

More distorted electric guitars? Fear of a Blank Planet.

Less distorted electric guitars? Lightbulb Sun.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
January 5th 2020


28727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Deadwing is the best PT from this era imo, turns this one's creepy vibes into a ghost story

Fear of a Blank Planet is definitely worth a check too, a little more similar to this tone-wise and with some of SW's best material

Digging: ZOMBIE-CHANG - TAKE ME AWAY FROM TOKYO

Uzumaki
January 5th 2020


2710 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can’t go wrong with either Deadwing or Fear Of A Blank Planet; Deadwing was my intro to PT though, so I’m a little biased towards it.



“...but I've yet to hear a sentence in Mandarin out loud that hasn't made me wince a little.”

You’re just not used to the sounds yet then. Mandarin flows and sounds quite beautiful 99% of the time; Cantonese is a different cup of tea though... different headspace for that.

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
January 5th 2020


6577 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Was planning on jamming Deadwing next as I think I recall dabbling in that record a fair few years ago. Tough to know what to check first when a band has such a large discog. and most of it is critically acclaimed. Plus Wilson's solo shit.

DaveT0738
January 25th 2020


835 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love Trains so much..

OmairSh
January 25th 2020


16909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Trains is a classic, I love the DVD version especially, seems more organic



Been listening to a lot of Steven's music recently

Digging: Elliott Smith - Elliott Smith

DaveT0738
January 25th 2020


835 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The live version it's very good, but i still prefer the original tune in the studio version much more

supremejelly
February 28th 2020


1201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The remastered version of this album is streaming now

Digging: Zen Mother - The Ascent

Source
February 28th 2020


18491 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wilson is obsessed with remastering stuff

AnimalsAsSummit
March 11th 2020


5100 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this basically sounds like seal. i remember jamming tracks from this in high school. big nostalgia. amazing songwriting. 5/5

Digging: 1980 - 1980

DaveT0738
March 11th 2020


835 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wonder, why they change the guitar tune when playing Trains live? the album tune it's so much better imo

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
March 11th 2020


18979 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Animals are you in the right thread? You think this sounds like Seal?

Digging: Fleet Foxes - Shore

AnimalsAsSummit
March 12th 2020


5100 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh heck yeah it does. the instrumentals, forget the singing style.

BigPleb
March 15th 2020


61221 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The remastered version of this is amazing.



Say what you want about Wilson but the man knows how to make a record sound warm as hell.



Talented man behind the dials.

Digging: Napalm Death - Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism

Mongi123
March 15th 2020


20933 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Didn’t realize this needed a remaster haha but this record is about as perfect as can be xD

BigPleb
March 15th 2020


61221 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Didn't need it tbh, frees up on the slight compression of the original though and just feels more balanced in general.

OmairSh
March 16th 2020


16909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah Deadwing needed it a lot more than this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy