letlive. The Blackest Beautiful
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
wacknizzle
June 21st 2013


14517 Comments


this thread looks like shit, peace

Digging: Tetragrammacide - Primal Incinerators of Moral Matrix

wacknizzle
June 21st 2013


14517 Comments


breakdowns!

iChuckles
June 21st 2013


247 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"I had to catch my breath from laughing so hard at this. This is sooooo far from the best post-hardcore album and two-step open chord breakdowns are brilliant? What an idiot!"





Wat.

iChuckles
June 21st 2013


247 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Oh come on, I mean, I like Letlive. as much as the next guy, but for fuck's sake, calm the fuck down. There are dozens of hardcore bands which don't even use breakdowns for christ's sake. You don't need to make every fan of this band look like a 13 year old who just heard their first hardcore band and thinks it saved them from suicide or straight edge or whatever."



You don't think I'm aware of the fact that there are metalcore/post-hardcore bands out there that aren't formulaic and don't utilize breakdowns?



I stand by my opinion, this album to me warrants a five-out-five because Letlive has managed to carve out a style and niché all on their own in a landscape full of me-too bands. They brought excellence to the table with Fake History and have truly mastered their style this go-around.



But then again, most (if not all) of the negs on this review is based on the numerical value alone and not the actual review content iself, which is obvious seeing how I have barely received any constructive criticism at all in regards to my writing.



Winsomniac
June 21st 2013


8481 Comments


Dat Tapout shirt doe

TenSecondsToThink
June 21st 2013


1637 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'Letlive has always had consistently brilliant lyrics that encompass mature and powerful themes'

Their lyrics are absolute shit, no one can deny that.



You use such pretty words in your review but I don't think they're really yours.

Gwyn.
June 21st 2013


17075 Comments


"You don't think I'm aware of the fact that there are metalcore/post-hardcore bands out there that aren't formulaic and don't utilize breakdowns?

I stand by my opinion, this album to me warrants a five-out-five because Letlive has managed to carve out a style and niché all on their own in a landscape full of me-too bands. They brought excellence to the table with Fake History and have truly mastered their style this go-around.

But then again, most (if not all) of the negs on this review is based on the numerical value alone and not the actual review content iself, which is obvious seeing how I have barely received any constructive criticism at all in regards to my writing."

augh god i don't even know how to react to this

Blaizend
June 21st 2013


674 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is alright

iChuckles
June 21st 2013


247 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Their lyrics are absolute shit, no one can deny that.



You use such pretty words in your review but I don't think they're really yours."



That's entirely subjective, their lyrics are infinitely better in comparison to other similar bands in my opinion.



What's that? Am I being accused of plagarism?



I think "fanboy", "idiot" and "hyperbole" will suffice, thank you.

iChuckles
June 21st 2013


247 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"augh god i don't even know how to react to this"



Thank you for proving my point.

Drummerboy123
June 21st 2013


3009 Comments


"God all the 5's for this are sickening."

"The Blackest Beautiful is a stupid name for an album."

"that artwork is really shit"

The hate.....it's too much!

Digging: Julien Baker - Turn Out The Lights

Gwyn.
June 21st 2013


17075 Comments


well the last two are 2 true

NeoSpaz
June 21st 2013


4529 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

StOp DiGgInG a BiGgEr HoLe FoR yOuRsElF

DanielNightLewis
June 21st 2013


1028 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

I really don't see how something so monumentally derivative can be a 5, it's polished as all hell and each instrument sounds like it should be amazing but between the vocal overproduction (sooo much autotune, especially for someone with a "strong" voice) and some really clumsily executed transitions (the cello or strings at the end of one song are laughable) all that remains are some well crafted but ultimately empty and safe tunes that are designed to dizzy and gratify immediately but lack anything approaching real, enduring quality.



tl;dr - it sounds like it should be great but when you actually listen it's insipid.

DanielNightLewis
June 21st 2013


1028 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Also, using the phrase "paradigm shift" is wholly inappropriate even subjectively in this review.

owen
June 21st 2013


4937 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

R.I.P. letlive.

Digging: Brandon Seabrook - Needle Driver

bodiesinflight57
June 21st 2013


870 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Big fan of Fake History here. Think this is pretty rubbish to be honest. Production is HORRIBLE.

BigPleb
June 21st 2013


51477 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Of course the production is horrible, ITS A 128 LEAK!

Cygnatti
June 21st 2013


32009 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This review is superfluously redundant.

Cygnatti
June 21st 2013


32009 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

The refused influence is extremely obvious in the first track.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy