Radiohead Hail to the Thief
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Cimnele
October 11th 2018


1296 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

only song on this I think's filler is Punch-up at a Wedding

Trifolium
October 11th 2018


1092 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Veldin knows, great album

What do you dislike about that, Cim? It were the lyrics, right?

And Alexander, that makes more sense, yeah, although I would still say it's better than that, haha!

Cimnele
October 11th 2018


1296 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nah it's not the lyrics

its just that the other songs on here have some interesting harmonic element or they drag in cool new sounds they've never used before or there's a point where the song steps off into a new section

whereas punchup at a wedding is fairly predictable, just sits there being A Radiohead Song

Trifolium
October 11th 2018


1092 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Haha, I see. I love the groove of that one a lot.

Valkoor952
October 11th 2018


2435 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

YOU HAVE NOT BEEN

PAYIN ATTENTION

PAYIN ATTENTION





this album is mostly ok, but 2+2 is a banger

ButtBoy
October 11th 2018


742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I cannot accept that there is an opinion out there that Amnesiac rules and this almost sucks. Hello. What album are you even listening to. So many standout tracks here. 20% of Amnesiac tracks are boring instrumental interludes.

And yes Cimnele, Punch-up is the only true filler track here.

Trifolium
October 11th 2018


1092 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Both rule. A lot.

Zeuzo
October 11th 2018


1822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album has better stand out tracks, (2+2, Sit Down, Where I End, There there, Wolf) Amnesiac is better as a whole

Digging: Between the Buried and Me - Between the Buried and Me

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2018


17755 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Thom Yorke's alternate track listing is good: https://www.reddit.com/r/radiohead/comments/4jwb75/whats_everyones_opinion_on_thom_yorkes/



An edited version of Punchup and I Will somewhere in there would be nice though.

Trifolium
October 11th 2018


1092 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I really don't get all the hate for Punchup either! It's one of my faves here for sure

ButtBoy
October 11th 2018


742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

musically it's good but the lyrics are probably his worst

Log S.
October 11th 2018


2144 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't like any of the alternate tracklistings I've seen, including Thom's. What was actually released is such a perfectly imperfect "set of channels," like an audio version of the Most Gigantic Lying Mouth video release that came out to accompany it. Even the album cover is so perfectly representative of this, a lot of ideas that taken at face value don't seen like they'd share the same space, but the overarching atmosphere somehow makes it make some sort of sense. Not every song is perfect but it's their one album where they actually allow that to be the case, resulting in a more exploratory album which is maybe long by their standards but really not that long-winded

Trifolium
October 11th 2018


1092 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Haha, fair enough, except for the Pablo Honey period had some way worse lyrics.

https://genius.com/Radiohead-killer-cars-lyrics

Edit: at Butt

ButtBoy
October 11th 2018


742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah thats fair, I just completely ignore Pablo haha. IT almost doesn't seem fair to bring it into the conversation just because they were essentially a different band back then

Trifolium
October 11th 2018


1092 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah very true. In that case I wholeheartedly agree ;-)

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2018


17755 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

I made my ideal track list:

1. 2+2=5

2. Sit Down Stand Up

3. Sail To The Moon

4. Go To Sleep

5. I Will

6. Where I End And You Begin

7. Scatterbrain

8. There There

9. A Punchup At A Wedding

10. Myxamatosis

11. A Wolf At The Door

Also people who like this album should hear the Com Lag Ep, there are six more songs on there from these sessions.

Log S.
October 11th 2018


2144 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

speaking of Com, if you put one of the tracks off that (maybe Paperbag) at the 4 spot, pushed by Go To Sleep one & dropped I Will I may actually enjoy that tracklisting



as it is 3-5 would just be a bit too much low-key acoustic stuff back to back for me

Wubs
October 12th 2018


408 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Little babies eyes, eyes eyes eyes

Digging: Various Artists - No New York

Flashmobba
October 12th 2018


992 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

my god I will not stand for the punchup hate. That intro, bass groove, beat, the nononono, the climax into that calm yet assertive riff outro. What a fuckin song.

Trifolium
October 12th 2018


1092 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah Flash!!!!!! One of my faves here too!!! I don't get it at all!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy