Queens of the Stone Age ...Like Clockwork
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
L4titudes
June 30th 2014


3447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

while this is a fantastic album.. is it safe to say their stoner rock roots are slowly fading?

SharkTooth
June 30th 2014


13751 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Um, they pretty much stopped being stoner rock following Rated R...

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2014


16763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Who cares, this album is way better than any stoner rock

Digging: Tame Impala - Currents B-Sides & Remixes

SharkTooth
June 30th 2014


13751 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hahahahaNO.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2014


16763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

btw I'm not counting Black Sabbath as stoner rock. But other than that yes

SharkTooth
June 30th 2014


13751 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

sorry, but there's a reason why Welcome To Sky Valley remains my all time favorite album

Slut
July 1st 2014


4163 Comments


i'm going to be late to the party on this one

Mad.
July 1st 2014


4674 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Who cares, this album is way better than any stoner rock"



Lol, have you ever listened to any non-Kyuss stoner rock

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2014


16763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There doesn't seem to be that much tbh, haven't really heard any that really did it for me enough to investigate much further. If you, or anyone else here know about the genre, what would you say are the best stoner rock bands (besides kyuss)?



And I wouldn't count electric wizard or sabbath or high on fire, bands like that are more stoner metal hybrids with other genres

SharkTooth
July 1st 2014


13751 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Dead Meadow, Colour Haze, Clutch, and Truckfighters are where I'd start

(especially Colour Haze)

Mad.
July 1st 2014


4674 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Colour Haze like HELL man, Tempel or the s/t are modern classics.

Phi is probably Truckfighters' best album, Josh Homme even said they were the "best band the the universe" so take it from him. Also Monster Magnet - Dopes to Infinity, Causa Sui - Summer Sessions vol. 1, Samsara Blues Experiment - Long Distance Trip.



If you want darker, try Black Willows - Haze (bandcamp it).



Seriously man, you just cannot dismiss stoner rock like that, it's a pretty damn vast and varied genre

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2014


16763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hmm I'll have to check those bands, thanks for the recs. Yeah didn't mean to dismiss the whole genre I just get tired of the

people who shit on new qotsa just because it doesn't stick to the kyuss sound their debut had. Not that any of you were doing

that, and I do like their debut a lot

SharkTooth
July 1st 2014


13751 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hey, just remember this quote from a Metallica review

"in terms of resistance to change and unwillingness to embrace new ideas, old school metal fans generally rank somewhere between Noel Gallagher and the Unabomber, and anything less than a faithful retread of old tracks was bound to be met with hostility, and even then…"

just replace 'old school metal fans' with 'obsessed fanboys'

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 19th 2014


14892 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i never loved anything til i loved you

Digging: Weezer - Pacific Daydream

tempest--
July 19th 2014


20571 Comments


seriously how good is this album

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
July 19th 2014


39397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah

Digging: The Used - The Canyon

conesmoke
July 19th 2014


5519 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's great. Does wear off fast with overlistening tho.

Froot
July 19th 2014


1910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Aside from the opener and closer, I still don't feel like there are enough standout tracks for it to measure up to the likes of Rated R

tempest--
July 19th 2014


20571 Comments


every track besides opener is standout

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
July 19th 2014


16763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If I had a tail-I appear missing are the standouts



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy