Queens of the Stone Age ...Like Clockwork
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
neekafat
August 13th 2017


6734 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Agreed, but I seem to think everyone's two favorite songs from that album are my least favorites

WhiteNoise
August 13th 2017


3573 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Misfit Love is so good, that super bizarre riff in Run Pig Run is also so good. I might have to jam the whole thing again before I listen to Villians.

neekafat
August 13th 2017


6734 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Misfit Love representttt

Flashmobba
August 13th 2017


643 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i love EV, but this is actually probably my least favourite queens album, just didnt dig the sound here

but villains is only growing on me, great stuff so far

"Un-Reborn Again is so good" [2]

WhiteNoise
August 13th 2017


3573 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Holding out until the 25th for the album. Hopefully I can make it.

polyrhythm
August 13th 2017


1325 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

read that as a staggeringly optimistic "holding out until their 25th album"

not sure you, or they, will last that long buddy

Digging: Kitty - Miami Garden Club

bloc
August 13th 2017


45094 Comments


Yeah I can wait until the 25th too tbh

Digging: Flotsam and Jetsam - Doomsday for the Deceiver

SmashIsTheWay94
August 13th 2017


430 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The last two of Villains as a combo might be better than the last two of this. Wow that felt weird to type

neekafat
August 14th 2017


6734 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah don't want my first listen of this to be some shit quality rip

I owe them a real listen first

Demon of the Fall
August 14th 2017


3664 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, I definitely agree with that.

Digging: Pestilence - Consuming Impulse

bloc
August 14th 2017


45094 Comments


Pfft, they owe US

Demon of the Fall
August 14th 2017


3664 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Average for Villains so far is 3.7 which isn't the best start, usually pre-release consensuses are overly generous... :-(

MO
August 14th 2017


22033 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

but a 3.7 is defined as great...lol

Demon of the Fall
August 14th 2017


3664 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah it is 'great' & should mean that, but for a lot of users a 3.5 seems to be interpreted as a negative rating.

bloc
August 14th 2017


45094 Comments


But usually big albums start at 4+ and then drop. This thing only leaked recently and it's still more than a week from official release. I agree that it being at a 3.7 already is not a good sign. I am thinking it will settle between 3.5 and 3.7?

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
August 14th 2017


5971 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

putting $5 now on their next album being mostly electronic and having at least one feature from an electro-pop star like Lorde.. Homme's trajectory..

Demon of the Fall
August 14th 2017


3664 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That was my point bloc, usually high-profile albums start out a bit higher before taking a dip. One potentially positive thing to note, is if everyone (or the majority) are listening to this very poor quality rip doing the rounds, perhaps they're judging it unfairly. The people listening to said rip are most likely fans of the band, so I'm sure they'll all give the official release a fair shot as well which in turn could increase the average. I'm not confident in that reasoning, just a suggestion.



I realise all this speculation regarding an album I haven't heard & isn't actually out yet is an exercise in pointless futility.

bloc
August 14th 2017


45094 Comments


Hell, it's fun to predict

Troll ratings aside, it is very rare for a new album to start with a low average and have it go up as the number of ratings increases.

You're right. The people rating this album now are probably those that are big fans of the band and that could either mean they're super critical of whatever album the band puts out, or they're super nice and tend to bump the album rating up a bit more (I tend to be in the latter category). So when official release day or a better rip comes along the rating could go up or down. We shall see.

Bigpapad
August 14th 2017


198 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Like Clockwork started pretty low if I remember correctly. I think this album is less for the hardcore "Rated R" fans and more for the general music fans.

bloc
August 14th 2017


45094 Comments


Good points too, I forgot about those things



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy