Vampire Weekend Modern Vampires of the City
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
joshuatree
Emeritus
May 12th 2013


3741 Comments


This might be my favorite album of vw's so far, and I really liked Contra

idk i thought you were gonna like this alex

Sleaper
May 12th 2013


3480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

its def my fav for sure.. theres no fillers, which is probably why.

listening to it as a whole is awesome... just a good pop album i guess

Winesburgohio
Contributing Reviewer
May 12th 2013


1824 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

don't know why people don't like Contra, it's absurdly likeable + endearing

Digging: Cakedog - Menace In The Phantom

newjunk2
May 12th 2013


232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice review and all, but I think the rating is definitely off. I think the songwriting is the main aspect of this album that puts it a notch above their first two.

clercqie
May 12th 2013


6520 Comments


This may be my least favorite Vampire Weekend release yet, but it's still very enjoyable.

jefflebowski
May 12th 2013


8552 Comments


easily their best album so far for me, and it doesn't have the grating persona and musical appropriation of the first two

TheCruddyBug
May 12th 2013


17 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I liked this immediately, and I really don't like their first two albums.

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
May 12th 2013


14893 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

diane young is interesting

Digging: Weezer - Pacific Daydream

Ponton
Emeritus
May 12th 2013


6136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

well im crazy and i like this so

Digging: Car Seat Headrest - Teens of Denial

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2013


7503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2 | Sound Off

It also contains as its opening line “Back back, way back, when I used to front like Angkor Wat.” I don’t really know what that means, but I’m sure Koenig wants me to Google it, after which I can also find out that the melody of the chorus is snatched from the sappy ballad “Aubrey” by Bread.



Best segue ever. Great review - one of several, in fact. I've been really liking your contributions ever since you arrived on the staff board, Alex. Long may it continue.

iGuter
May 12th 2013


404 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This was a step up in every way. Good review.

Digging: King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard - Polygondwanaland

zaruyache
May 12th 2013


17903 Comments


So this is good? My little brother will be so thrilled. Might check out eventually.

Sleaper
May 12th 2013


3480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i had loooow expectations for this, as i hate indie pop.

but this is really surprisingly awesome,

so many SOLID tracks that arent just the usual boppy dance songs



TheDMV
May 12th 2013


64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A nice job of describing the feeling of disliking something you desperately want to enjoy but overall I think this is a weak review. There's a vague idea that this isn't good because the production and melodies were better on previous releases--and while melody is hard to describe there is little discussion of what's going on melodically in a lot of the songs or the album's production at any point in the review.

BigSimo
May 13th 2013


190 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

p4k gave it a 9.3 lmfao

Uranium
May 13th 2013


7543 Comments


p4k is always right

klap
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2013


11756 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

listen to your friend p4k he's a cool dude

mrgeppetto
May 13th 2013


13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well written, great review. Hope I disagree tho... watching them perform a few of these tracks on SNL showed some production experiments that I was digging

duckenstein
May 13th 2013


25 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pleasant surprise. Definite step up in songwriting.

Anthracks
May 13th 2013


6051 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

9.3

Digging: Alvvays - Antisocialites



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy