Xanthochroid Blessed He With Boils
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
FictionalFlames
December 29th 2012


1528 Comments


nice review brah, pos

so far this album reminds me of Ihsahn.

Jade
Emeritus
December 29th 2012


10698 Comments


You're a good writer, Captain, but it feels like you're trying too hard sometimes (i.e. - strings of big words that aren't necessary)

like: "Xanthochroid manages to successfully extract each illuminative-integral component as if the very proponents they behest were renditions from their own merits."

D41V30N
December 29th 2012


949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://gifs.gifbin.com/reverse-227839420.gif

D41V30N
December 29th 2012


949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album reminded me of Winterhorde's Underwatermoon.

And that's good.

xist
December 29th 2012


171 Comments


Captain, i understand what you're getting at, but you can't divulge "into" anything. The band can divulge their ideas, but we can't divulge into them.

Tyrael
December 29th 2012


21083 Comments


I learn something new every day

Digging: Summoning - With Doom We Come

Crysis
Emeritus
December 29th 2012


17305 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Listening to this now. Some cool songs but I'm not a big fan of their style.

Digging: Falls of Rauros - Vigilance Perennial

Crysis
Emeritus
December 29th 2012


17305 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Winter's End" is a really good track, but I think their black metal tracks are a bit weak. I don't

really remember any riffs that aren't acoustic, and the harsh vocals aren't very powerful and don't

convey much emotion, and more often than not the cleans are annoying rather than epic.



If they released a neofolk album it would be ace, though.

LifeFeedsOnLife
December 29th 2012


463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Downloaded this album on a whim and so far im enjoing it... I haven't been this stoked about a prog/black release since Urd.

Crysis
Emeritus
December 29th 2012


17305 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good review by the way, if a bit verbose.

MO
December 29th 2012


22050 Comments


sounds interesting nice write up

MO
December 29th 2012


22050 Comments


listening right now, very solid chops

i'm with crysis a little though regarding the vox, really don't hit home

Hawks
December 29th 2012


52302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah the harsh vocals aren't anything special, but they're still pretty good. Doesn't really take anything away from this. The cleans rule though.

Digging: The Body and Full Of Hell - Ascending a Mountain of Heavy Light

LifeFeedsOnLife
December 29th 2012


463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It didn't disappoint.. the choir vocals dotted about were nice, but the singer sounds a bit too much like Ihsahn to me. gonna give it another spin before i post a rating. good review btw. pos'd

Propose
December 30th 2012


959 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

harsh vocals are pretty awful yea

RevenantBlue
December 30th 2012


136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This year's Parasignosis, basically

ZippaThaRippa
December 30th 2012


10339 Comments


"Clearly the unity of these Californians can be seen in video clips on YouTube where the band members can be seen joking around and having a good time amongst each other during the production phase and this not only shows in visual aspects but also on audible demeanors as there never seems to be a moment on Blessed He With Boils where band members try to over shadow others."

Idk what the hell this is doing here but it fucks up the flow pretty hard. Review is ungodly pretentious and syrupy but it's undeniably well written.

NocteDominum
December 30th 2012


7314 Comments


Hey captain, good job man posd of course album us still a solid 4, vicals dont bither me

Pho3nix
December 30th 2012


381 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks for reviewing this! always great finding new music on this site.

Kubrick
December 30th 2012


793 Comments


Thanks for the review! Really glad you turned me onto this.. I like it quite a bit on the first listen and I get the feeling it's going to grow on me. Seems like one of those albums you can really delve into and hear new things each time you listen.

If I could just make a suggestion for your writing in future reviews- try to be a little more conversational. It seems like you go out of your way to select unorthodox, uncommonly used words just for the sake of making the review sound more technical. It really hurts the readability of the review and a lot of the time just clouds the points you are trying to make with unnecessary verbiage. Other than that it was a good review though- could definitely tell that you put a lot of effort into it which is always appreciated :D





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy