Jizue Novel
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Calc
Contributing Reviewer
December 2nd 2012


15907 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

here's what im wondering, do they add new ones like every year or how does that work?

Ecnalzen
December 2nd 2012


7174 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I see. Ever since I signed up for this site and got interested in writing reviews, I've wanted to see if I could work my way up like you are. I don't think I write enough (and I just started writing in August this year, so I probably still need to work on my writing style) or review new enough stuff to be considered though. I figured it would take a while if it ever did happen, but I wasn't really sure how the process worked.

Jade
Emeritus
December 2nd 2012


10702 Comments


The site promotes users/contributors between every 6 months and every year. Ecnalzen, if you consistently write quality reviews (most of them being on recent releases,) then you'll be on the right path. PaperbackWriter and BreakingTheFragile got promoted after contributing for only a few months, but both of them added a ton to the site in a short time.

I'm sure you could become a contributor eventually, if you felt like putting forth the effort.

NightmareCinema16
December 2nd 2012


2016 Comments


@Omaha, no I haven't yet. I take the assumption it still should be great. Either way, the review works for me.

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
December 2nd 2012


15907 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i believe in you Ecnalzen!!!!!

Ecnalzen
December 2nd 2012


7174 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks for the info and the pep talk, Omaha :D



I guess I should start focusing on newer material and finding pre-release album streams. I tend to not find out about something until after it's already been released, but being on this site definitely has helped me keep track of new music. It's just so much easier to review something I am already familiar with.



"i believe in you Ecnalzen!!!!!"



Your kind words warm my heart, Calc. Which is good, since I am mostly dead inside.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
December 2nd 2012


4501 Comments


I remember you sharing this a while back. It's a pretty cool record indeed. Excellent work as always Jacob. POS'd.

Jade
Emeritus
December 2nd 2012


10702 Comments


Thanks guys. I want to get this album out there, especially in time for the Best of 2012 lists. Spread this album out as much as you can! It deserves a lot of attention.

And Ecnalzen, let me know if there's anything else I can do to help you.

Brostep
Emeritus
December 2nd 2012


4326 Comments


Nice work Jacob, have a pos. I like the casual style of this review, like "Oh, yeah, there's this pretty cool band and you should check it out" instead of "This is a good band. Listen to their material and here is why." ...not really sure if that makes sense or not but basically it's way less forced than a lot of other reviews on the site, including mine. Few things, though:

Opening sentence after the quote kind of jars me into the review. A "fact" like that doesn't do well to open IMO, but it could be worse.

You only use "that" three times. Rachel would be proud.

The combination works so well here

Probably don't need the "so."

The stage is set for the stunning piano lead to take over: gradual cymbal brushes. ambient textures in the background, and a patient song structure that gives plenty of breathing room.

First, slight typo with the period in the middle of the sentence. Second, "ambient textures in the background" is kind of meaningless. Third, you might want to consider revising the sentence structure, as it took me a few reads to realize that the second half of the sentence was the "stage."

Other than these very minor things, great job!


Jade
Emeritus
December 2nd 2012


10702 Comments


Thanks for the tips, Will. I revised the things you mentioned, and feel it's a better read now.

Do you think you would like this? It's a great album, so I'd advise you to at least try out a track.

VheissuCrisis
Emeritus
December 2nd 2012


1369 Comments


Listened to a couple of tracks and really digging them.

How many reviews had you done before you applied to be contrib Jacob?

Brostep
Emeritus
December 2nd 2012


4326 Comments


I bet I would, I'll give it a listen once I finish this Solterra review (which should be done in about 30 minutes)

Jade
Emeritus
December 2nd 2012


10702 Comments


I had like 52 reviews, Vheissu. I'd landed a couple of huge album reviews, which helped me out a lot. Aesop Rock and Icarus the Owl.

Ecnalzen
December 2nd 2012


7174 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I appreciate it, Omaha. If you want (no pressure, I'm sure you are a busy guy) you could give me some feedback on one or two of my reviews (or more if you are feeling frisky). I have only had one or two staff/contributor feedback so far on my writing. Up to you tho.



Ended up buying this, btw. I look forward to the next review of yours that gets me into something new again.

Brostep
Emeritus
December 2nd 2012


4326 Comments


Listening to "Unnecessary Pain" and it's really really good. Loving the way the drums and piano come
together.

edit: holy shit the last minute is incredible. definitely have to check the full thing out

Brostep
Emeritus
December 2nd 2012


4326 Comments


Speaking of which, I feel like you'd dig that Nerve EP I reviewed way back in September, it's kind of similar in the interesting jazz stylings. Did you ever get a chance to check that out?

Jade
Emeritus
December 2nd 2012


10702 Comments


I'll see what I can do, Ecnalzen.

Will, I haven't checked it out, but now I see I may have to! Thanks for the rec.

Ecnalzen
December 3rd 2012


7174 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks, Omaha.



Fuck, this is cool. I've been really getting into jazz related stuff lately and the fact that this is all instrumental is an even bigger bonus.

BLUEOmni
December 3rd 2012


729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Woah, didn't know this got a review. Super happy these guys are getting recognition.

BLUEOmni
December 3rd 2012


729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Omaha, where did you find these guys? From my list? I was the one to add these guys to the database and for a while, the only one who rated them. These guys are incredibly underrated so I didn't expect them to get any recognition here from anyone but me.



Anyone who likes these guys should check out Mouse on the Keys and toe.



In hindsight, I should have written a review for this album a long time ago, but it escaped my attention. I've still got the other LP by them, which is just as good as this one... "^__^



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy