Deftones Koi No Yokan
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
tresm87
April 28th 2015


3813 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i wonder what sort of sound they will transcend for the new album.



they are capable of anything really.

Underflow
April 28th 2015


3833 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like this band as much as anyone else on this site, but I think we're using the word "transcend" a little loosely.

tresm87
April 28th 2015


3813 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

deftones straight transcend

thats a fact so i will use it in this context

sorry if you don't agree with my usage

shall we discuss sonic highways some more? lol

chinesewhispers
April 28th 2015


4719 Comments


He's right though, they're in the perfect spot career-wise to go crazy

They could do post-rock, industrial rock, add a little psych in there, maybe more trip-hop/electronic influence, they could go more mathy/sludgy, or go straight dream pop/shoegaze and cut the metal entirely, there's no telling. If they play their cards right the new one could be seen as their 2nd masterpiece in the eyes of the music community (since this was their most acclaimed by critics thus far). Might as well strike while the iron's hot

tresm87
April 28th 2015


3813 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

endless possibilities



im pumped

KerfuffleinaHussle
April 28th 2015


1033 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Would be fucking funny if they just did a DE/KNY rehash now

GmemberKills
April 28th 2015


3240 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

id be so damn pissed. that would just make me want eros even more

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
April 28th 2015


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"this was their most acclaimed by critics thus far"



Debatable, considering how WP is widely considered a landmark record.

BigPleb
April 28th 2015


51480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This has aged very well, didn't like it when it was initially released.



Quite a slow burner, for sure.

BeyondCosby
April 28th 2015


1764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Did anyone else get the vibe from Chino's latest interview that he wasn't excited about this album? Obviously it's hard to tell by the tone but just looking at the language he used it almost seems like he feels lack luster about it. I wanted to hear him talk this album up and sell it but he claims it "just another Deftones album". I wouldn't be surprised if they have two more in them before they give up the ghost.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
April 28th 2015


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still love it as much as when I first heard it. This was actually the first Tones I loved.

BigPleb
April 28th 2015


51480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tbh Chino has never been the most exciting dude to watch in interviews regardless dude, he just kinda says it how it is, no bullshit.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
April 28th 2015


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If you guys ever get a spare half hour, watch this: Terrific interview and it's how I get all of my history of the band for my revs https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LFZbzO5MYJo

BigPleb
April 28th 2015


51480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Was that the kerrang one with Abe and Chino? Now that was a very interesting insight to the band.

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 28th 2015


25036 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Third best Deftones

Digging: Brand New - Science Fiction

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
April 28th 2015


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's Scuzz Meets Deftones but yea it's Abe and Chino giving a really in depth, personal history of the band. All the burdens were basically laid down.

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
April 28th 2015


16452 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Around the Fur will always be my favourite because I love the guitar sound and it was such an improvement on the debut (hence loved it at the time it was released) but this snatched 2nd place from White Pony.



Haven't checked out all their discog but those I have I'd rate - Fur, Koi, Pony, Diamond, Adrenaline, S/T

Digging: Cathal Coughlan - The Sky's Awful Blue

adr
April 28th 2015


11797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Third best Deftones [3]

Artuma
April 28th 2015


29123 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

they are all equally good

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
April 28th 2015


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

favorite bands





deftones,



Atta boy Art





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy