Anberlin Vital
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
dmathias52
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2019


1301 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Huh. I'll have to see if I notice it more this listen through. Cause normally that does bother me, but I guess I might have nostalgia goggles on to hard

Digging: Owen Pallett - Island

KjSwantko
June 11th 2019


12004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I mean this album sounds nothing like their prior records lol. At least to my ears.

dmathias52
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2019


1301 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

But is that due to the production? I mean it does sound a lot different, but that's also because of the extra electronic influence. I think it sounds like a pretty logical mix between Cities and Dark is the Way. If anything the production seems almost a little too polished, which doesn't serve the heavier songs quite as well.

KjSwantko
June 11th 2019


12004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

No I'm talking strictly the way its recorded. The guitars, the drums......all sound nothing like the earlier records.

dmathias52
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2019


1301 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That I can definitely give you. I wish I had better words to describe it, but it doesn't sound as "raw" as Cities, I guess. That one just sounded like a rock album, this one doesn't give that same feeling. Putting in that way, I could see how it bothers people, just not as much an issue for me.

Ecnalzen
June 11th 2019


8819 Comments


I never thought the production was off on this. I guess maybe over polished, but I still think it works as a whole.

joshieboy
June 12th 2019


7353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Always thought the album art was awesome

Digging: Currents - The Place I Feel Safest

Artuma
June 12th 2019


31589 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"I never thought the production was off on this. I guess maybe over polished, but I still think it works as a whole"



it's totally unlistenable

Digging: The Smith Street Band - Don't Waste Your Anger

Ecnalzen
June 12th 2019


8819 Comments


Well, sure, there's that, too.

BringMetheVerizon
June 25th 2019


29 Comments


Modern Age is IMO the best song they ever made

Great album
Great band

Gyromania
July 8th 2019


29923 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

god, drugs, and sex is easily the best here imo

Mongi123
July 8th 2019


20861 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That is taking it way way too far lol Jesus.



And Yes the closer is soooo fucking good.

dmathias52
Contributing Reviewer
July 9th 2019


1301 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Modern Age is probably in my top 5 for them honestly

GreyShadow
July 9th 2019


3961 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Modern Age AND God, Drugs, and Sex are like top 5 tracks for them. Little Tyrants is right behind em

Digging: Carly Rae Jepsen - Dedicated Side B

dmathias52
Contributing Reviewer
July 9th 2019


1301 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

What else would you put in that top 5? God, Drugs, and Sex is probably top 15, but it's also only like my fourth favorite of their closers

onionbubs
July 9th 2019


12537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

god drugs and sex is cool but honestly not necessarily a highlight for me here



granted bar self starter all my favorites from these sessions and what makes this maybe my favorite era of the band is all thanks to the devotion songs



like holy fuck how are those not on the album proper what the hell

Digging: Underoath - Disambiguation

Gyromania
July 12th 2019


29923 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i actually might like god, drugs & sex as much as fin. i don't think it's more complex or multi-faceted, but it really hits me harder than most album closers.

Point1
August 18th 2019


812 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Little Tyrants is the best song this band ever wrote come at me Fin lovers

Ecnalzen
August 18th 2019


8819 Comments


Little Tyrants is a goodun. Possibly the best Anberlin goodun. That's a tough call.

Storm In A Teacup
August 18th 2019


27743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Album title was accurate.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy