Anberlin Vital
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
tommygun
November 10th 2013


26706 Comments


one day ~

toxin.
November 10th 2013


12898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

~~~

Ecnalzen
November 10th 2013


7156 Comments


What if it's... A Day Late?

Scoot
November 10th 2013


18768 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

desires is so catchy

Digging: 21 Savage, Offset and Metro Boomin - Without Warning

jmnewcomer18
November 10th 2013


3815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

God Drugs and Sex is such a beautiful track yet it never gets any damn praise. the re recorded feel good drag is one of the laziest and weakest tracks they have ever put out. the original is so much better. the remake was only made because the original didn't get the praise it deserved and it is nothing but a pop remix of it.

toxin.
November 10th 2013


12898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Both versions of TFGD are almost identical, I never understood the vitriol towards the re-recorded version (I mean it's one thing to dislike it because it's re-recorded, another thing to say it's a horrible pop remix). I actually prefer the NS version because I never liked Stephen's half-shriek delivery of the your's of "Your lips, your lies, your lust" and the NS release smooths that over. Meh



and yeah God Drugs and Sex is an amazing track, it's one of Anberlin's least-immediate songs though (took me a good 10-15 tries to get into it) and I feel like that's why no one talks about it

jmnewcomer18
November 10th 2013


3815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

In a way im probably biased towards the original TFGD because its the first song I ever heard from them when I was introduced to them back in like 2006. I just feel there is a huge lack of energy displayed in the remake. not a terrible track but imo its one of the worst in the album. I just don't like the poppy approach they took with it I guess.



For me when I listen to an Anberlin album for the first time I listen to the closing tracks first because they just seem to be so mind blowing and epic. GD&S is such an artistically beautiful track and the vocals are just great. The closers are all my favorite Anberlin tracks except for Naïve Orleans. I can definitely understand where you are coming from though now that I think about it

toxin.
November 10th 2013


12898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

TFGD is actually the first song I heard by them as well on a local radio station circa 2008, which is why I checked out Cities after seeing a 4.5 review flagged on this site. But I mean I guess we can disagree on the point, honestly I don't mind that they remade it because this band deserves more fucking exposure and rereleasing TFGD on a major record label helped on that front.



And yeah Anberlin closers are great. GD&S might be my second favorite of that bunch (either that or Miseraible Visu)

jmnewcomer18
November 10th 2013


3815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Hell yeah man I can definitely back that opinion. (On them remaking it for that reason). Not a big fan of it but i definitely understand.



In order for the closers:

1.Fin

2. GD&S tied with Miseraible Visu

3. Dance Dance Christa Paffgen

4. Depraved

5. Naïve Orleans



Well technically those would be my top 5 anberlin tracks

toxin.
November 10th 2013


12898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha man I was reading some of my comments on the old Cities thread that was defaulted before Sowing's and my opinions were so whack. Apparently I thought:



1. Fin

2. Depraved

3. Dance Dance

4. Naive Orleans

5. Miserabile Visu



But yeah now I'm in agreement except I'm not as high on Depraved as you are, or maybe I'm just higher on Naive Orleans (definitely not as ambitious as the rest of their closers but it has flawless execution imo). Depraved is such a weird song in their repertoire, honeslty

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 10th 2013


25033 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Depraved is a good track but lol

Digging: Brand New - Science Fiction

toxin.
November 10th 2013


12898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol.

Depraved is the only closer that isn't a top 3 track on its album I think

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 10th 2013


25033 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Yeah true

jmnewcomer18
November 10th 2013


3815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

eh idk i love that song. "Down", "We Owe This To Ourselves", and "Art Of War" are my favorite tracks on the album besides that.

toxin.
November 10th 2013


12898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I adore Down, Art of War, and Pray Tell. I'm mixed on whether I prefer Depraved or Impossible though. Never got into We Owe This To Ourselves' chorus, sadly, though I love that post-rocky bridge so much

toxin.
November 10th 2013


12898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lakes your opinions also were surprisingly similar to mine (i.e. depraved was your 2nd fav closer, god drugs and sex not included obviously)

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 10th 2013


25033 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

I remember loving that whole album so much and then it just died all of a sudden

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 10th 2013


25033 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Dark is The Way, that is

jmnewcomer18
November 10th 2013


3815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeah the post rocky bridge of we owe this to ourselves is awesome. the only tracks i don't like on that album are you belong here and i really dislike to the wolves

jmnewcomer18
November 10th 2013


3815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

^This haha



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy